• by Orson Scott Card
  • Narrated by Stefan Rudnicki, Paul Boehmer, Arte Johnson
  • 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This second volume of Orson Scott Card's five-volume anthology of short stories features seven tales exploring possible future scenarios for the human race. A fascistic government's capital punishment extends beyond death. Intellectually superior aliens from a doomed world choose Earth's dogs as their new vessels. Not-quite-human beings on an Earth wasted by biological warfare continuously fight an enemy which has long been annihilated. These and other possible fates may be discovered in this collection, which includes: "A Thousand Details", "Clap Hands and Sing", "Dogwalker", "But We Try Not to Act Like It", "I Put My Blue Genes On", "In the Doghouse", and "The Originist. Card" includes background commentaries for each story in his afterwords and introductions.


What the Critics Say

This collection by one of science fiction's most revered authors portrays seven tales of possible fates for the human race and the inner struggles of characters exploring their hidden selves."One of the genre's most convincing storytellers. An important volume; for most libraries." ( Library Journal)"Definitive....A series of introductions and afterwords offering Card's thoughts on his life and his writing are as absorbing as the stories." ( Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.