• by Melissa de la Cruz, Michael Johnston
  • Narrated by Phoebe Strole, Dan Bittner
  • 7 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston comes this remarkable first book in a spellbinding new series about the dawn of a new kind of magic.
Welcome to New Vegas, a city once covered in bling, now blanketed in ice. Like much of the destroyed planet, the place knows only one temperature: freezing. But some things never change. The diamond in the ice desert is still a 24-hour hedonistic playground, and nothing keeps the crowds away from the casino floors, never mind the rumors about sinister sorcery in its shadows.
At the heart of this city is Natasha Kestal, a young blackjack dealer looking for a way out. Like many, she's heard of a mythical land simply called "the Blue". They say it's a paradise, where the sun still shines and the waters are turquoise. More importantly, it's a place where Nat won't be persecuted, even if her darkest secret comes to light.
But passage to the Blue is treacherous, if not impossible, and her only shot is to bet on a ragtag crew of mercenaries led by a cocky runner named Ryan Wesson there. Danger and deceit await on every corner, even as Nat and Wes find themselves inexorably drawn to each other. But can true love survive the lies? Fiery hearts collide in this fantastic tale of the evil men do and the awesome power within us all.


What the Critics Say

"As fearless as a futuristic Game of Thrones." (Margaret Stohl New York Times best-selling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures trilogy)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

More books pleas

Can you get the nest of sins(three)I really enjoy the first one so plea get the nest.
Read full review

- Audiobook freak

Good story but...

3.5 Stars
This was a good book with a interesting premise, but for me it didn't live up to my expectations. don't get me wrong it was enjoyable at times but then often it would drag a bit too much. I found the twists and secrets a great addition to the storyline and I will probably continue and read the sequel as I believe the true story has just began, I can't wait to see what happens next.
Read full review

- sar1386

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-09-2013
  • Publisher: Listening Library