Summary

A rare hybrid of vampire and werewolf, Riley Jenson and her twin brother, Rhoan, work for Melbourne's Directorate of Other Races, an organization created to police the supernatural races, and protect humans from their depredations. While Rhoan is an exalted guardian, a.k.a. assassin, Riley is merely an office worker, until her brother goes missing on one of his missions. The timing couldn't be worse. More werewolf than vampire, Riley is vulnerable to the moon heat, the weeklong period before the full moon, when her need to mate becomes all-consuming. Luckily Riley has two willing partners to satisfy her every need. But she will have to control her urges if she's going to find her brother. Easier said than done as the city pulses with frenzied desire, and Riley is confronted with a very powerful, and delectably naked, vamp who raises her temperature like never before.
In matters carnal, Riley has met her match. But in matters criminal, she must follow her instincts not only to find her brother but to stop an unholy harvest. For someone is doing some shifty cloning in an attempt to produce the ultimate warrior, by tapping into the genome of nonhumans like Rhoan. Now Riley knows just how dangerous the world is for her kind, and just how much it needs her.
©2006 Keri Arthur (P)2006 Books on Tape
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Fans of Anita Blake and Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse vampire series will be rewarded." ( Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £32.89

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £32.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By J Whitney on 08-02-07

Could have been far better.

For a book supposedly of the fantasy genre, the author seems to have taken another meaning for fantasy. Not automatically a bad thing but something potential listeners should be aware of is that while it features lycanthorpes and vampires it spends a great deal of time describing sex scenes between the title character and her various mates, it's not a bad thing per se, but too much time is used describing exactly how and when Riley is taken by various characters.

The main setting of the book is decent enough, set in the near future in a society where Werewolves, Vampires and other supernatural creates walk the Earth alongside humans and the supernatural are watched over by 'The Directorate'.

The main plot revolves around Riley (the title character) and her search for her brother Rhoan, this plot is quite lightweight, if you lose your place you'll never be wrong by approximating as it never seems to move too far too fast, it's takes a couple of hours for the plot to start to move but by that time you've already listened to an hour of exposition regarding a werewolves sex drive during the week before the full moon, this setting is supposed to serve as a catylst and a burden for Riley during this week but in reality all it does is serve as a week plot device to ensure every male character is descibed in gratious details as Riley casts an eye over them looking to mate with them. If this aspect had been downplayed somewhat it might have made for a better listen to all as it stands it's definatly a book aimed towards women in the overpowering context of Riley's sex drive and continual intercourse with various characters in the story it's something obviously aimed towards women.

If you can look past or even enjoy the gratious dialogue during the various sex scenes you might enjoy this but realistically I think most people will shy away from it because of this aspect.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Emma on 09-06-08

It's basically lycan porn.

The story did have it's merits, although you could see a lot of similarities to other lycan/vamp fiction as you would expect. I found the narrators voice to be a little whiny, and not very erotic which would have been helpful considering the book is profoundly sexual in nature. To be honest, it should probably be classed as erotica, as sex comes up every other sentence.

The story line is half decent, if not a sort of rip off from Underworld, but if you're bored and want to listen to some erotic lycan/vamp fiction then this might be up your street.

Read more Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Sharon on 05-02-09

Enjoyed this entire series!

This is just the first book in this series. You have to actually read the other 5 or 6, but I find them very enjoyable. I like the premise and the heroine does not do lots of stupid stuff like so many of the paranormal romance/urban fantasy women. Yes, there is a lot of sex, most of it casual, but it becomes a part of the lore of the werewolf in this mythology. I do wish Audible (and for that matter others, like Amazon), would indicate if there is explicit sex. I like to read/hear it in my stories, but if someone is going to be with you in the car, a head's up would be nice. I usually read the reviews to see if sex is mentioned by reviewers. Of course, those are the ones I like - a good story with good sex. Full Moon Rising fills that bill.

I like the narrator also. This series takes place in Australia and her voice is perfect for the lead character.

Read more Hide me

14 of 16 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Erin on 17-12-07

Just too much

Lately, I've been into the vampire/werewolf thing and I have been enjoying it, so, I thought that I would give this series a try. It was a waste for me. Though the idea of the story in the book was interesting, I just couldn't bring myself to get into the multiple 'mate' thing. Maybe I'm getting too old for that idea, or, maybe I'm just a prude. Don't get me wrong, I love hot sex scenes, but, I usually like them when it's 'love' and with building up to a 'life mate' thing. Not, this one today and that one tomorrow, or later on tonight. It had me too confused!! So, if you're not into the several different partner thing and like a more 'old fashioned' love story, this one isn't for you. It wasn't for me..................even wolves mate for life, without all this preamble.

Read more Hide me

24 of 28 people found this review helpful

See all reviews