Going Home : Survivalist

  • by A. American
  • Narrated by Duke Fontaine
  • Series: Survivalist
  • 13 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If society collapsed, could you survive?
When Morgan Carter's car breaks down 250 miles from his home, he figures his weekend plans are ruined. But things are about to get much, much worse: the country's power grid has collapsed. There is no electricity, no running water, no Internet, and no way to know when normalcy will be restored - if it ever will be.
An avid survivalist, Morgan takes to the road with his prepper pack on his back. During the grueling trek from Tallahassee to his home in Lake County, chaos threatens his every step but Morgan is hell-bent on getting home to his wife and daughters - and he'll do whatever it takes to make that happen.
Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen's One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American's apocalyptic tale.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A review for the whole series so far books 1-5

I have just finished book 5 in the series and thought I would write a review on the whole series (so far) as I loved all of them the same.

So if you've read the synopsis you'll now that Morgan was on his way home to his wife and 3 kids when.... the power goes out, an EMP maybe? and plunges the world back into the stone age. Now you might be thinking that there is a couple of other books on the same line and a successful TV show.

However what makes this different?
Morgans story and the situations that he finds himself in with people that are trying to survive. I continually thought "yeah, that is what would happen, thats how people would act in that situation" it is brilliantly thought through. The characters are fantastic as well all with very different backstories which really makes you care about what happens to them.

But the stand out thing is the narration by Duke Fontaine it is fantastic it probably the best I've heard, he puts constant voices on all the characters so you know every time who is talking but is still clear to understand.

The only thing I would have liked is an explanation to why Morgan prepared the way he did, it sort of does near the end of the series, its only a small thing but it bug me a little.

If you like excellent narration, brilliant characters and a believable story (with a little hollywood drama chucked in) give this a go.
Read full review

- Gary

Going home. I was gripped form the start

Where does Going Home rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I really enjoyed this. (and the next 2 in the series) I get through about 4 audiobooks a month. I would place this in the top 10.


Who was your favorite character and why?

Difficult to decide between Morgan and Thad. Both do what has to be done. but neither like doing it.


Have you listened to any of Duke Fontaine’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Other than the next books in this series, No. But I will look for out for some. I liked his reading style. It sounded like he was enjoying the book too


Read full review

-

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-10-2013
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio