• by Mervyn Peake
  • Narrated by Rupert Degas
  • 4 hrs and 52 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Continuing to mark 100 years since Mervyn Peake’s birth, Naxos AudioBooks releases the second novel in the cycle series. Gormenghast follows protagonist Titus (now the 77th earl of Gormenghast) from the age of seven to 17 and describes his desire to break free from the physical and psychological constraints of the castle. Meanwhile, the Machiavellian Steerpike continues his dastardly rise to power. But will he succeed?
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

Gothic and sprawling, the ancient castle Gormenghast is the centerpiece of a kingdom cloistered in intrigue and dark rituals. Titus Groan, the kingdom's 77th earl, and his mother and sister are the castle's prisoners. Titus is 7 years old. So opens this second volume of Peake's titanic and sublimely ornate Gormenghast trilogy. Narrator Rupert Degas not only delivers the heightened prose with focus and energy but he also makes the entire novel more easily accessible by creating distinct and memorable character voices. As Peake paints with language, Degas faithfully weaves the poetic colors, shadows, and textures. Peake was a contemporary of Tolkien and a strong influence on the young George Lucas. An excellent introduction to Peake's enduring creation of high fantasy.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The ultimate fantasy.

This is like marmite,love in my case,great characters in Steerpike the kitchen boy
but then he turns into a great villain.The story twists and turns with great suprises
Read full review

- eileen

Classic, genre expanding fantasy

Brilliantly written and brilliantly narrated, Gormenghast it's one of the greatest fantasy novels ever written. A thrilling, grotesque, and bleakly comic tale, it's a virtually flawless modern classic and I strongly recommend it.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-04-2011
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks