Happy Hour in Hell : Bobby Dollar

  • by Tad Williams
  • Narrated by Tim Flavin
  • Series: Bobby Dollar
  • 16 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bobby Dollar has a problem or four of epic proportions.
Problem one: his best friend Sam has given him an angel's feather that also happens to be evidence of an unholy pact between Bobby's employers and those who dwell in the infernal depths.
Problem two: Eligor, Grand Duke of Hell, wants to get his claws on the feather at all costs, but particularly at all cost to Bobby.
Problem three: Bobby has fallen in love with Casimira, Countess of Cold Hands, who just happens to be Eligor's girlfriend.
Problem four: Eligor, aware of Problem three, has whisked Casimira off to the Bottomless Pit itself, telling Bobby he will never see her again unless he hands over the feather.
But Bobby, long-time veteran of the endless war between above and below, is not the type of guy who finds Hell intimidating. All he has to do is toss on a demon's body, sneak through the infernal gates, solve the mystery of the angel's feather, and rescue the girl. Saving the day should just be a matter of an eon or two of anguish, mutilation and horror. If only it were that easy.

More

What the Critics Say

"Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended." (SFF World)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great follow up....but?

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

This is a great read, if you are a fan of Bobby Dollar, an angel with attitude, and his continuing exploits to dodge the good the bad and the darn right ugly in pursuit of little Miss Cold Hands, then like me you will love this book. Tad Williams takes us to New places and depths actually and literally. Full of twists and turns, some you can see coming and some that catch you by the throat. The story follows on from The Dirty Streets of Heaven almost without a pause, but could be read as a stand alone I think but obviously to get the best experience book 1 should be read first. It is well paced, comic in places and leaves you wondering how in Hell (pun intended) will he survive the Machiavellian Shenanigans of above and below.

But.....

If you have listened to The Dirty Street of Heaven, I'm sure you will have formed images of the characters in you minds eye, due to the great voice acting of Joe May e.g. Cassi is petite sexy savvy and a bit scary. Tim Flavin's Cassi is well... a Man and a 6 foot bearded brute with rippling muscles and definitely not sexy, and don't even get me started on the poor Solihull sisters who are supposed to be from Birmingham England not India or poor Fatback who I really could not understand what he was saying.
So as you might of guessed switching Voice actors in mid series sometimes does not work and leaves a confusion of characters where you are constantly trying reconcile who is who and distracts from the plot somewhat.

So in summery the book is great, the narration may be good if read in isolation, but as a follow on, leaves me with "cold hands" - oh lord am I never going to get that image out of my head.


Read full review

- Mark

Wise cracking in Hell...whats not to like?

Bobby's back, seriously pissed and looking for a way in... to hell that is.

The second instalment of Bobby Dollar's adventures continues straight on from where it left off, with Bobby wanting to get Cassi back and willing to go to extreme lengths to do so.

Most of this book is spent with Bobby working his way through Hell trying to get to Cassi and hell is .. well hellish, not so many laughs in this book as the first and what there is just seems to fall on its face most of the time, but this could be because, and here is my only issue with this audio book, the narrator has changed!

Joe May, who read the first book, is Bobby.

Now I listen to a lot of audio books and know that sometimes a the voice has to change mid series, it's just in this case Joe was so good and Tim, in comparison, in my opinion is not.

To be honest I found the story hard going because this, which is a real shame as it is a fantastic there and back again hell book, tad's descriptions of Hell and its inmates are lavish and disturbing.

In all a fantastic book well worth a listen, shame about the narrator change.
Read full review

- Neil

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-09-2013
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton