• by John Ajvide Lindqvist
  • Narrated by Julian Rhind-Tutt.
  • 19 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the international best seller Let the Right One In.
They only stopped watching her for a matter of minutes. That was all it took.
It was a beautiful winter's day. Anders, his wife and their feisty six-year-old, Maja, set out across the ice of the Swedish archipelago to visit the lighthouse on Gavasten. There was no one around, so they let her go on ahead. And she disappeared, seemingly into thin air, and was never found.
Two years later, Anders is a broken alcoholic, his life ruined. He returns to the archipelago, the home of his childhood and his family. But all he finds are Maja's toys and through the haze of memory, loss and alcohol, he realizes that someone - or something - is trying to communicate with him.
Soon enough, his return sets in motion a series of horrifying events which exposes a mysterious and troubling relationship between the inhabitants of the remote island and the sea.


What the Critics Say

"This is a third consecutive masterpiece from an author who deserves to be as much a household name as Stephen King." (SFX Magazine)
"A terrifying supernatural story yet also a moving account of friendship and salvation." (The Guardian, on Let the Right One In)
"A magician of genre fiction." (The Independent, on Harbour)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

where's the last bit?

there's something wrong with this download, which seems to be missing it's third part. If it reaslly is complete then the story just stoips mid way!
Read full review

- Ben The Cat

I hope there was some missing...

I didn't enjoy any of this at all. The bits I did understand were completely bizarre, I know there are some "out there" bits in Jo Nesbo or Stieg Larson, but nothing as confusing and ridiculous as in this book. I'm at a loss to understand why it's been recommended at all for people who've enjoyed other Scandinavian Crime novels. I hope that the previous reviewer is correct, and that there are chunks missing from the download that would miraculously make it work. But I'm not convinced anything could help. Mis-sold. Don't bother.
Read full review

- Nichola

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-05-2011
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing