Hell to Pay : Nightside

  • by Simon R. Green
  • Narrated by Marc Vietor
  • Series: Nightside
  • 8 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The name's John Taylor. I'm a PI, though what I really do is find things that are lost. I work the Nightside, the city within the city of London, where the sun never rises and where the human and inhuman go to get their kicks, provided they're willing to pay the price in whatever currency the seller demands. In the wake of the war that almost brought the Nightside to total ruin, there's a power vacuum begging to be filled - and some think I should take charge. I don't agree. Neither does the immortal known as Griffin. Wealthy beyond reason, he has his own ideas about who should be running things. Still, when his granddaughter - and designated heir - is kidnapped, he calls on me to find her. But someone - or some Thing - is blocking my special gift. So this time, I'm going to have to do my job the hard way. And quickly, or the Griffin will have to choose a new heir...


What the Critics Say

"This is an absolutely fantastic and compulsively readable entry in Green's long-running Nightside series. Witty banter, a well-constructed plot and compelling characters combines to make this one hell of a read." (Romantic Times)
"Green is a demented and disturbed genius, and I mean that in the nicest way! If I ever need help, I want to call on John Taylor." (Crimespree Magazine)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fun story, suspect reading

I have a great fondness for the Nightside books; Horror-noir with Pratchettesque moments of punning, the misadventures of stone-cold London PI John Taylor saw me charging through the first 6 books at a rate of knots. Hell to Pay deals with much of the fallout from those books and succeeds in avoiding the potential anticlimax of continuing a story past the apocalyptic ending of book 6. This is all good stuff and presents many new threads to explore the post-war situation.

BUT: Would a British reader have been too much to ask? Taylor is a Londoner and the reading (the books being first person) is done in a drawling, supercilious attempt at RP that leaves Marc Vietor with nowhere to go when he's required to give us antagonists who really ARE arrogant and supercilious. Anyone not moneyed or upper class (far from the same thing) has a distinctly Antipodean accent and this, coupled with American stresses on some words, is genuinely distracting and off-putting.

I love Green's writing and I am certain that Vietor is a good reader when not attempting to sound English. As it is, though, his performance is enough to make me seriously reconsider getting any more audios in this series.
Read full review

- The Dreaded Drutt

Hell to listen

Would you try another book written by Simon R. Green or narrated by Marc Vietor?

Yes I would but with reservations

What was most disappointing about Simon R. Green’s story?

The story was overly simplistic, the main character wooden and incredibly dense when it came to clues and the story line slightly disjointed as it moved staggered from one scene to the other.

How could the performance have been better?

The Nightside series is supposedly set in a London (Soho) inspired parallel city and yet Vietor's understanding of English pronunciation ranges from the slightly odd to the downright bizarre and in some cases, is not consistent. The plummy bad villain accent Vietor uses for the main protagonist John Taylor means that any other villain or powerful antagonist ends up sounding like a Mary Poppins sidekick.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Mild irritation followed by disappointment due to the thinness of plot, characterisation and detail for the environment that John Taylor works in.

Any additional comments?

I wouldn't say this was enough to stop me from purchasing any more from this series but if the next one is as poor as this one then that's it - I will move on to a different author.

Read full review

- Hathor

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-11-2008
  • Publisher: Audible Studios