Hell's Gate : Multiverse

  • by David Weber, Linda Evans
  • Narrated by Mark Boyett
  • Series: Multiverse
  • 37 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

They thought they knew how the universes worked. They were wrong!
In the almost two centuries since the discovery of the first interuniversal portal, Arcana has explored scores of other worlds - all of them duplicates of their own. Multiple Earths, virgin planets with a twist, because the ''explorers'' already know where to find all of their vast, untapped natural resources. Worlds beyond worlds, effectively infinite living space and mineral wealth. And in all that time, they have never encountered another intelligent species. No cities, no vast empires, no civilizations, and no equivalent of their own dragons, gryphons, spells, and wizards.
But all of that is about to change. It seems there is intelligent life elsewhere in the multiverse. Other human intelligent life, with terrifying new weapons and powers of the mind...and wizards who go by the strange title of ''scientist''.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

unfinished unconvincing story

didn't finish this book first time I've given up love sci go and fantasy but found this book completrly unappealing
Read full review

- Mike A.

Great Start ! Overall , slowish to get into but worth while.

Came across this series by trying to find other things Mark Boyett has narrated . I really enjoy his narration and his performance he did not disappoint.

Having read the Honourverse novels I knew I liked Webber and the concept of multiversity (is that a word?) in this series is well handled. As with most Epic Sci Fi / Fantasy it takes a while to get your head around who all the players are but when you do the story really starts to come alive.

The only potential criticism is you can see a number of common sense ways to stop the escalation that occurs in the story. I ended up shouting " but why not just do X!!" at the speakers on occasion. However if they did this there wouldn't be much of a story.

Overall , slowish to get into but worth while. Off to download the next in the series.
Read full review

- C. Forrester

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-03-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios