Kill City Blues : Sandman Slim

  • by Richard Kadrey
  • Narrated by MacLeod Andrews
  • Series: Sandman Slim
  • 10 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Finalist, Fantasy, 2014
Another day, another apocalypse....
James Stark, aka Sandman Slim, has managed to get out of Hell, renounce his title as the new Lucifer, and settle back into life in L.A. But he also lost the Qomrama Om Ya, an all-powerful weapon from the banished older gods. Older gods who are returning and searching for their lost power.
The hunt leads Stark to an abandoned shopping mall - a global shopping paradise infested with Lurkers and wretched bottom-feeding Sub Rosa families, squatters who have formed tight tribes to guard their tiny patches of retail wasteland. Somewhere in this kill zone is a dead man with the answers Stark needs. All Stark has to do is find the dead man, recover the artifact, and outwit and outrun the angry old gods - and natural-born killers - on his tail.
But not even Sandman Slim is infallible, and any mistakes will cost him dearly.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I listened to this straight after the freakish 'Devil Said Bang',

Stark is after the Qomrama Om Ya or magic eight ball, a powerful weapon with lethal magical potency. The quirky mainly outlandish, bizarre characters are the strength of this book ,I laughed, gasped, cringed, balked, unwilling to put my ipod down. Loved it.
Stark unusually has to work as a team to get hold of the ball. Powerful beings are pushing through a weakness in to our world, but Stark, the killer of monsters has something to say about that.

Must not forget to mention the very superb narration by Macleod Andrews, brilliant.

Don't begin here though if you have not met Stark before, start with 'Sandman Slim' which is the first in the series.
Read full review

- sharon

Pandemonium and destruction rules!

James Stark aka Sandman Slim returns in another mind blowing, monster killing adventure. This is the 5th in the series and it shows no signs of running out of steam. Murder and mayhem are Stark's close companions as ever and the story is as fresh and exciting as the first one. The action is mad and freaky, the story is dark, gritty and the dialogue zips along with snarky humour. Stark has kind of grown up and we can see a different side to him, maybe because he cares about his friends more and can show it. MacLeod Andrews' narration is superb and gives each character his/her own personality and voice. I love these books and can't wait for the next one.
Read full review

- CathyR

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-07-2013
  • Publisher: HarperAudio