Komarr : Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)

  • by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • Series: Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)
  • 12 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Komarr could be a garden with 1,000 more years' work, or an uninhabitable wasteland if the terraforming fails. Now, the solar mirror vital to the terraforming of the conquered planet has been shattered by a ship hurtling off course. The emperor of Barrayar sends his newest imperial auditor, Lord Miles Vorkosigan, to find out why. The choice is not a popular one on Komarr, where a betrayal a generation before drenched the name of Vorkosigan in blood. Thus, the Komarrans surrounding Miles could be loyal subjects, potential hostages, innocent victims, or rebels ready for revenge.
Lies within lies, treachery within treachery - Miles is caught in a race against time to stop a plot that could exile him from Barrayar forever. His burning hope lies in an unexpected ally, one with wounds as deep and honor as beleaguered as his own.


What the Critics Say

"Bujold retains the wit, intelligence, action, and great character development that have made the Miles Vorkosigan series so superior. In Komarr she proves once again that it is possible for the latest book in a series to be as good as the first." ( Voya)
"As usual, Bujold tells a fast-moving story that combines just the right amount of action and wit as Miles continues to mature in a manner unusually complex for a series protagonist....[Bujold's] work remains among the most enjoyable and rewarding in contemporary SF." ( Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful

Miles undertakes his first ever job in his new position as Imperial Auditor and at the same time, he meets Ekaterin Vorsoisson, a woman trapped in an unhappy marriage. OK, that may not sound like the most gripping novel summary of all time but really this is fantastic. It mixes light social comedy with serious meditations on the nature of power and personal happiness with a gripping detective story. As ever it is read brilliantly by Grover Gardner.
In case you're wondering the chronological order of the Miles Vorkosigan novels is this:
Warrior's Apprentice
The Vor Game
Brothers in Arms
Mirror Dance
A Civil Campaign
Diplomatic Immunity
However, it doesn't matter too much about reading them in the right order as Bujold didn't right them in chronological order, and anyway has said that she wrote them bearing in mind that readers might encounter them out of order.
In addition there is are 3 short stories originally published in a single volume that can be slotted in among the novels, and there are two novels, Shards of Honor and Barrayar, which deal with Miles's parents.
Read full review

- Jane

Komarr is wonderful

Another amazing book by LMB. Miles is back on form. I'm starting to dread the day I'm done with the series.
Read full review

- Robert

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-05-2007
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.