Living Dead in Dallas : Sookie Stackhouse

  • by Charlaine Harris
  • Narrated by Johanna Parker
  • Series: Sookie Stackhouse
  • 8 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse is having a streak of bad luck. First her co-worker is killed, and no one seems to care. Then she comes face to-face with a beastly creature that gives her a painful and poisonous lashing. Enter the vampires, who graciously suck the poison from her veins (like they didn't enjoy it).The point is: they saved her life. So when one of the bloodsuckers asks for a favour, she obliges - and soon Sookie's in Dallas, using her telepathic skills to search for a missing vampire. She's supposed to interview certain humans involved, but she makes one condition: the vampires must promise to behave and let the humans go unharmed. But that's easier said than done, and all it takes is one delicious blonde and one small mistake for things to turn deadly.... The Sookie Stackhouse stories are delightful Southern Gothic supernatural mysteries, starring Sookie, the telepathic cocktail waitress, and a cast of increasingly colourful characters, including vampires, werewolves, and things that really do go bump in the night.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Living Dead In Dallas

This is book 2 in the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. Sookie has been asked to use her mind-reading skills to help the vampires of Dallas, but she takes on more than she bargained for when she agrees to penetrate a terrorist organisation. The Fellowship Of The Sun has swarn to kill all vampires, and those who associate with them. This book is gripping from the start, its intense pace never letting up until the end. Recommended for all those who loved Dead Until Dark. Impossible to put down!
Read full review

- Nadia

Loved it

Where does Living Dead in Dallas rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Pretty high, I've listened to hundreds and give up quick if something doesn't hook me straight away

What did you like best about this story?

I liked the way the characters were written, the way they responded to things made unlikely events interesting

Which character – as performed by Johanna Parker – was your favourite?

Sookie Stackhouse

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Laugh and wonder what would happen next

Any additional comments?

Surprised to be looking forward to the next installment

Read full review

- madeline downham

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-10-2009
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited