Lord of Emperors : The Sarantine Mosaic

  • by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Narrated by Berny Clark
  • Series: The Sarantine Mosaic
  • 21 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Crispin the mosaicist wants to concentrate on his art. Rustem of Kerakek, a physician, is also on his own journey of self-discovery. But no man may withdraw from society that easily, and both men soon find themselves drawn into the deadly webs of Sarantium.
Lord of Emperors is the sequel to Sailing to Sarantium.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

If you love chariot racing - this one is for you!

Any additional comments?

Being totally immersed in the world of Sarantium for the last few days, coming back to the real world was a bit of a shock. I loved this book. The characters, the world, the plot, the pacing...everything. Knowing that Mr Kay has no hesitation in killing off his characters resulted in a great deal of anticipation and desire to 'turn that page'. I adored the ending as opposed to the ending of the first book when I was left a bit discombobulated. Caius Crispus aka Crispin has to be one of the best protagonists out there in the world of literature. The women are also quite well developed but lag in comparison to the well fleshed out male characters. Of the side characters, Carullus and Scortius remain my favourites. The humour is deftly dealt with ensuring that the novel is not overladen with gloom and doom. One of the most delightful facets of Mr Kay's writings is the inclusion of the future that some of the characters will have. I am sure that one of them became the ancestor of Rodrigo Belmonte of The Lions of Al-Rassan's fame. Oh and the chariot scenes - absolutely stupendous. Highly recommended. "'Somewhere in the world, just then, a longed-for child was born and somewhere a labourer died, leaving a farm grievously undermanned with the spring fields still to be ploughed and the crops all to be planted. A calamity beyond words. "

Read full review

- ruth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-07-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios