Magic Hunter : The Vampire's Mage

  • by C.N. Crawford
  • Narrated by Laurel Schroeder
  • Series: The Vampire's Mage
  • 7 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Rosalind lived for the hunt. Now she might die for it.
Rosalind's mission is simple: hunt demons and mages. As a member of the Brotherhood, she's dedicated to protecting the world from dark magic. Someone's got to stop the supernatural bloodlust - plus, hunting's a hell of a lot more exciting than her computer science classes.
Everything's going to plan until she meets Caine, a mage in league with the demons. He's scary as hell and just as sexy. Worse, he's brought her a warning: rumors are spreading that Rosalind is a mage, too.
Now, the Hunters have chosen their next target - and it's her.
While she works to prove her innocence, Rosalind must form an uneasy alliance with Caine. But the Brotherhood are closing in. If she can't figure out who to trust, and fast, she'll be exiled to the realm of the very demons she once hunted.
The first book in The Vampire's Mage series, perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Karen Marie Moning, and fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Huge disappointment

I listened to Agent of Enchantment that this author wrote with Alex Rivers and really enjoyed it so was excited to give this book a go. Bad choice!

From the sample the narration sounds fine, but in reality it was dreadful. Flat performance that took away the emotion or excitement, and I just imagined a slightly depressed narrator sitting in an audio booth reading the story as if she just needed to get though it to get the next paycheque and one day she might have a job she enjoys. Whilst listening to a book - especially a paranormal one like this which should be exciting and full of action and relationships - your brain should not be able to drift that far away from the plot. Destroyed the book!

That being said, the book itself wasn’t great either! Rosalind is a very unlikeable lead. She’s completely deluded about her own abilities without ever having achieved/done anything to prove she has any skills at any point in her life. She blindly follows the brotherhood, and I know you’re supposed to think she’s been brainwashed from a young age but she just comes across weak, pathetic and unable to have a thought for herself despite evidence around her. There’s sooooo many better paranormal/kickass female lead books out there.

The relationship between her and Caine was flat too whereas it should have been sparking and fiery (in a love/hate conflicted way). But no, just blahhhh.

Think the revelations and story between her and Josiah would have been more interesting if there relationship had come across AT ALL. If the rest was flat, this was a whole new level.

Don’t know how this is the same author as Agent of Enchantment?! I can only assume that a couple more years of writing experience under their belt, Alex Rivers as the co-author, and a much better narrator made all the difference. This book, however, was an epic fail.

Forced myself to listen to the whole book as I wanted to give the author a chance, but no, I just wasted part of my life instead. Getting a refund!
Read full review

- Book addict

Good. Demons

Good story, a bit jumpy in places, but it is read well, andI the difference. In the Demons was good.
Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-12-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios