• by Iain M. Banks
  • Narrated by Toby Longworth
  • 5 hrs and 32 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a world renowned, even within a galaxy full of wonders, a crime occurs within a war. For one man it means a desperate flight and a search for the one, maybe two, people who could clear his name. For his brother it means a life lived under constant threat of treachery and murder. And for their sister, even without knowing the full truth, it means returning to a place she'd thought abandoned forever. Only the sister is not what she once was. Djan Seriy Anaplian has changed almost beyond recognition to become an agent of the Culture's Special Circumstances section, charged with high-level interference in civilisations throughout the greater galaxy. Concealing her new identity, and her particular set of abilities, might be a dangerous strategy, however. In the world to which Anaplian returns, nothing is quite as it seems; and determining the appropriate level of interference in someone else's war is never a simple matter.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

multiple world saga

I have not read any of this authors books previously, so I approached with caution. It starts slowly and for about the first 20 minutes I was unsure if I would complete it, however once you have the characters placed in the correct "worlds" it becomes one of those stories that you just have to get to the end of. The character names are not always easy to remember and some of them are very similar, concentrate! Not a bedtime book but a very good tale.
Read full review

- jenny brewster

long and waffling

i wanted to love this but it was so long and rambling that I didn't need to pause it when I left the room
Read full review

- N

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-02-2008
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK