Memory : Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)

  • by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • Series: Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)
  • 14 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dying is easy. Coming back to life is hard. At least that's what Miles Vorkosigan thinks, and he should know - having done both once already. Thanks to his quick-thinking staff and incredible artistry from a medical specialist, Miles' first death wasn't his last. But it does take some recovery, a fact he has been reluctant to admit. When he makes the mistake of returning too soon to military duty, he finds himself summoned home to face the Barrayaran security chief, Simon Illyan.
But Miles' worst nightmares about Simon Illyan are nothing compared to Illyan's own nightmares. Under suspicion himself, Miles must seek out the answers to Ilyan's nightmares or see the inevitable destruction of Imperial Security and, with it, the Empire.


What the Critics Say

"Science fiction at its very best!" ( Rave Reviews)
"As ever with Bujold, Memory is a delight!" ( Locus)
"Bujold fans of long standing will justly hail [this] as a masterpiece that contains some of her finest prose and characterization. Bujold continues to prove what marvelous genius can create out of basic space operatics." ( Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


One of the very best Miles Vorkosigan novels. Miles makes a bad decision and loses nearly everything, but finds that life carries on regardless and is soon back on form. The comedy, plotting and characterisation all work brilliantly. If you haven't read a Vorkosigan novel before don't start here (try Warrior's Apprentice). If you have already read the sequence thus far then you don't really need me going on about how brilliant it is. Just believe me: this is a notch better.
Read full review

- Jane

One of the greatest novels ever written

I love everything Lois McMaster Bujold writes, but after many years of re-reading and audio rehearing, I do think Memory is the best thing she's ever written. A perfect pearl of a novel, in its balance of pain and pleasure, humour and sadness, adventure and character/relationship development. Such a pleasure every time. And I still cry at some parts every time.
Read full review

- AMG, London

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-03-2007
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.