Mogworld

  • by Yahtzee Croshaw
  • Narrated by Yahtzee Croshaw
  • 13 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a world full to bursting with would-be heroes, Jim couldn't be less interested in saving the day. His fireballs fizzle. He's awfully grumpy. Plus, he's been dead for about 60 years. When a renegade necromancer wrenches him from eternal slumber and into a world gone terribly, bizarrely wrong, all Jim wants is to find a way to die properly, once and for all.
On his side, he's got a few shambling corpses, an inept thief, and a powerful death wish. But he's up against tough odds: angry mobs of adventurers, a body falling apart at the seams and a team of programmers racing a deadline to hammer out the last few bugs in their AI.
Mogworld is a comic fantasy novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, and is the debut novel from video-game icon Yahtzee Croshaw (Zero Punctuation).

More

What the Critics Say

"The first legitimate breakout hit from the gaming community in recent memory" (Boing Boing)
"Yahtzee consistently makes me laugh, and even though I dig computer and electronic games, he has cross-genre appeal to anyone who enjoys a sharp wit, unique sense of humor, and plenty of originality - not purely gaming fans" (The Future Buzz)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fantastic story and narration after first hour.

Love zero punctuation, and you may feel a little short changed if you wanted a 13 hour equivalent. You instead get a 12 hour roller coaster of amazing one liners and set pieces, after the slow scene setting starting hour.



First 20 minutes is not terribly interesting while setting the scene, Jim is not particularly likeable for first 40 ish. After that you get introduced to more characters and the dynamic of their relationships and the crazy world fits perfectly.



Odd hearing Yahtzee do the different accents and genders,, but he gets it spot on and listening to the 10 ish main characters is great fun.



Very intelligently pieced together fantasy story meets real mmo gaming experience. Had to pull my van over listening to a scene with Mr. Wonderful ( won't spoil it) or end up rear ending someone in fits of laughter.
Read full review

- Kieran

Interesting enough story and plenty for the gamers

Having followed Yahtzee for a little while through his game reviews i was quite curious to see how his humor would translate through into a novel. I'm pleased to say that it does, mostly. Yahtzee himself narrates which really does help a lot as I'm not overly sure it would have worked as well had anyone else done so.

All the characters are interesting if nothing else, and the interaction between all the 'mains' is really great and the side characters that pop up are always entertaining.

I think the biggest let down was the story itself. I cant help but feel i might have enjoy the story that could have been, more then the story i got. I don't really want to spoil anything, but i could have quite happy stayed in Act 1 throughout. But alas that wasn't the story he was telling.

My Girlfriend and i are both gamers and really did enjoy the references along the way, but I'm not sure how well that would translate to a non gamer.
Read full review

- Peter

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-09-2012
  • Publisher: Open Book Audio