Naked Empire : Sword of Truth

  • by Terry Goodkind
  • Narrated by Jim Bond
  • Series: Sword of Truth
  • 22 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"'You knew they were there, didn't you?' Kahlan asked in a hushed tone as she leaned closer. Against the darkening sky, she could just make out the shapes of three black-tipped races taking to wing, beginning their nightly hunt. That was why he'd stopped. That was what he'd been watching as the rest of them waited in uneasy silence. "'Yes,' Richard said. He gestured over his shoulder without turning to look. "There are two more, back there." Kahlan briefly scanned the dark jumble of rock, but she didn't see any others. Lightly grasping the silver pommel with two fingers, Richard lifted his sword a few inches, checking that it was clear in its scabbard. A last fleeting glimmer of amber light played across his golden cape as he let the sword drop back, in place. In the gathering gloom of dusk, his familiar tall, powerful contour seemed as if it were no more than an apparition made of shadows.
"Just then, two more of the huge birds shot by right overhead. One, wings stretched wide, let out a piercing scream as it banked into a tight gliding turn, circling, once, in assessment of the five people below before stroking its powerful wings to catch its departing comrades in their swift journey west. This night they would find ample food."


What the Critics Say

"Jim Bond's narration imparts a mythical quality while transporting the listener to a world of wizards, soul-stealers, potions, and magic." ( AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

another good book in the series

Best thing about this was the great side plots woven in to the main Richard plot. Lots of philosophizing which can be a bit mind numbing at times, but it was gripping as most of these books.
Read full review

- Rachel

long winded in places

bit long winded in places. narrator made the women sound a bit damp. bit too rambly
Read full review

- Sam Edwards

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-05-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio