Orbus : Spatterjay

  • by Neal Asher
  • Narrated by William Gaminara
  • Series: Spatterjay
  • 14 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a follow-up to The Voyage of the Sable Keech, tracing the journey of an Old Captain, Orbus - a sadist in charge of a crew of masochists - to a planetary wasteland called The Graveyard, lying between the Polity and the Prador Kingdom. An ancient war drone by the name of Sniper has stowed away aboard his spaceship, and the purpose of the journey is not entirely what the captain expected. Also heading in the same direction is the Prador king and the Prador Vrell.
Vrell, having been mutated by the Spatterjay virus into something powerful and dangerous, has seized control of a Prador dreadnought, killing much of its crew, and is intent on heading back to the Prador Third Kingdom to exact vengeance on the King of the Prador, who tried to have him killed. All three ships are heading towards a climatic confrontation to The Graveyard, where underlying truths about the virus are revealed and an ancient menace to civilization reappears....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very well read and enjoyable story

If you could sum up Orbus in three words, what would they be?

Perfectly reasonable SciFi. Enjoyed it very much and the William Gaminara added a great deal to that sense of enjoyment.

Read full review

- david


Absolutely loved this book. The action was gripping and the science felt entirely plausible. I have read the previous two novels in the same universe set on the same planet, so had a basis for reading in the first place. But I think that this stands on its own, without the need for reading the other two. Also the narration seemed to have the perfect pitch to compliment the prose. I never felt that the wrong choice had been made, which is often a complaint I have in regards to audio books. All in all I recommend this and will certainly be looking for other Neal Asher books in the future.
Read full review

- john

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-01-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios