Pilgrim: The Collected Series 1-4 : Pilgrim

  • by Sebastien Baczkiewicz
  • Narrated by Paul Hilton
  • Series: Pilgrim
  • 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

The first four series of the original BBC Radio 4 fantastical drama series set in a world almost, but not quite, like our own.
Paul Hilton stars as William Palmer, the immortal, reluctant and unthanked hero protecting mankind from an enemy they resist believing in: the Grey Folk.
Thrilling, dark and contemporary, the dramas are set in a recognisable present day but one haunted by the folktales of the British Isles: drowned villages, changeling children, werewolves and unruly nature spirits.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Superb. enthralling. I was so disappointed when it ended . rather than one reader or was a host of talented actors. I would truly recommend this production.
Read full review

- gepocock

Excellent and fascinating

A BBC production is always good, the actors are fine but I confess that I found the sound effects quite bewildering at times. The book seems to be based on British folk tales and you gain a strong sense of that through the whole thing.

The first "episode" (remembering that this was broadcast in instalments) drops you straight into the middle of Pilgrim's life story. Each episode or chapter is an individual tale around a few main protagonists involving very long time frame as it turns out. I had no idea what was happening for much of the first few chapters/episodes and mostly because in a drama, as opposed to a book, much detail is left unexplained and the sound effects are not self explanatory, merely noisy and confusing, but the quality of the performers kept me involved.

I'm glad I stuck with it and was sorry there wasn't more by the time the book ended.

Recommend listening for those who enjoy a touch of mystery and magic set in countryside Britain where the old ways could still exist, where one could walk the ancient paths.
Read full review

- Rosemary White

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-06-2016
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Ltd