Rally Cry : The Lost Regiment

  • by William R. Forstchen
  • Narrated by Patrick Lawlor
  • Series: The Lost Regiment
  • 15 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Boarding a transport ship after the Battle of Gettysburg, Colonel Andrew Keane and his 35th Maine regiment are swept into an alternate world. The first human civilization they encounter on this planet resembles medieval Russia, with boyars and priests ruling over the peasants and townspeople. Soon Keane and his regiment learn this world's terrible secret: that cannibalistic hordes of large, fierce Tugars circle the planet and demand tribute - including humans to be devoured. And the hordes will be arriving sooner than expected, with several hundred thousand warriors on horseback.
Using all their 19th century know-how, Keane and his men build a new society with railroads and ironworks, and with skill, cooperation, and courage, the regiment and most of the Russians work together in hopes of defeating the horde.
A great story of survival and bravery in the face of overwhelming odds. First novel in the acclaimed Lost Regiment series by the author of One Second After, One Year After, and Day of Wrath.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

harry turtledove like with a Civilation game feel

I wasn't sure about this title but i'd say if you like Harry Turtledove, Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe series or the Civilization games by Sid Meier; then you will probably enjoy this!

I have a fondness SF Alternative history combos so was already its target audience but its look at religion, the task high speed industrialization and civil war battle tech and tatics really made this book enjoyable.

Also its nice to have a book where a Quaker is one of the main character and their struggle with non-violence principles in a barbarous world.
Read full review

- P. J. Bell


Thought this was going to be a bit crappy and it did have a crappy seeming start but I loved it and would suggest to anyone
Read full review

- carl

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-06-2017
  • Publisher: Audible Studios