Summary

The world of Faerie never disappeared: it merely went into hiding, continuing to exist parallel to our own. Secrecy is the key to Faerie’s survival—but no secret can be kept forever, and when the fae and mortal worlds collide, changelings are born. Half-human, half-fae, outsiders from birth, these second-class children of Faerie spend their lives fighting for the respect of their immortal relations. Or, in the case of October “Toby” Daye, rejecting it completely.
After getting burned by both sides of her heritage, Toby has denied the fae world, retreating into a “normal” life. Unfortunately for her, Faerie has other ideas. The murder of Countess Evening Winterrose, one of the secret regents of the San Francisco Bay Area, pulls Toby back into the fae world. Unable to resist Evening’s dying curse, which binds her to investigate, Toby is forced to resume her old position as knight errant to the Duke of Shadowed Hills and begin renewing old alliances that may prove her only hope of solving the mystery...before the curse catches up with her.
©2010 Seanan McGuire (P)2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Well researched, sharply told, highly atmospheric and as brutal as any pulp detective tale, this promising start to a new urban fantasy series is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher or Kim Harrison." ( Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.69

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £19.69

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By lynsey on 20-07-12

October Day is a fantasy hero for adults!!

Great listen. Cool, sassy, fast and sad. A very interesting take on a female fantasy character,She is no superhero, she is an understated woman with everyday worries caught between two worlds.
If you like fantasy, this is worth a listen. I will be listening to the next Toby Daye novel, can not wait to see how this great character progresses!!

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By susan on 22-03-15

You gotta love it

Starting abruptly & with more politics than I have ever experienced irl this story may yet be one of the most amazing worlds I've ever experienced....I just wish the narrator didn't try so hard to do the accents because she's not great at them & it just winds up being kind of uncomfortable.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jan on 14-06-10

A fairy tale with grit.

An amazing beginning to a wonderful series. A fairy tale for adults. McGuire does a great job building this world and giving characters some nice depth, without sacrificing action or a nice pace to the story. The narrator was very good and enhanced McGuire's work. Very entertaining. I have already downloaded the second book (A Local Habitation) and look forward to the third book which should be released in September.

Read more Hide me

19 of 20 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By G Reinhardt on 26-11-11

Missed Matched Pair

I am currently on my third attempt to make it through this novel. I've put some thought into why Rosemary and Rue isn't working for me. I know that audible reviewers giving negative feedback are rarely appreciated, but here are my thoughts. It seems that McGuire has some fun ideas for her story line. In this case, however, they fall flat. From the opening scene, I found myself a little curious to see what would happen next but mostly completely unaffected by the main character. There is absolutely no character development and I kept thinking "Why is she doing this?" "Why should we care?" "Why so dramatic?" The narrator adds to this sense of blah. Its like watching a soap opera with monotone actors. You know there should be some drama in there somewhere, but can find it in the performance. I can only recommend this book if you are ready for a strange pity party. There are so many fun options in this genre. I would definitely recommend the Mercedes Thompson Series by Patricia Briggs, The Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris or Stray by Rachel Vincent long before I sent you to Rosemary and Rue. Good reading

Read more Hide me

75 of 83 people found this review helpful

See all reviews