Rosemary and Rue : October Daye

  • by Seanan McGuire
  • Narrated by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Series: October Daye
  • 11 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The world of Faerie never disappeared: it merely went into hiding, continuing to exist parallel to our own. Secrecy is the key to Faerie's survival-but no secret can be kept forever, and when the fae and mortal worlds collide, changelings are born. Half-human, half-fae, outsiders from birth, these second-class children of Faerie spend their lives fighting for the respect of their immortal relations. Or, in the case of October "Toby" Daye, rejecting it completely.
After getting burned by both sides of her heritage, Toby has denied the fae world, retreating into a "normal" life. Unfortunately for her, Faerie has other ideas. The murder of Countess Evening Winterrose, one of the secret regents of the San Francisco Bay Area, pulls Toby back into the fae world. Unable to resist Evening's dying curse, which binds her to investigate, Toby is forced to resume her old position as knight errant to the Duke of Shadowed Hills and begin renewing old alliances that may prove her only hope of solving the mystery...before the curse catches up with her.

More

What the Critics Say

"Well researched, sharply told, highly atmospheric and as brutal as any pulp detective tale, this promising start to a new urban fantasy series is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher or Kim Harrison." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

October Day is a fantasy hero for adults!!

Great listen. Cool, sassy, fast and sad. A very interesting take on a female fantasy character,She is no superhero, she is an understated woman with everyday worries caught between two worlds.
If you like fantasy, this is worth a listen. I will be listening to the next Toby Daye novel, can not wait to see how this great character progresses!!
Read full review

- lynsey

You gotta love it

Starting abruptly & with more politics than I have ever experienced irl this story may yet be one of the most amazing worlds I've ever experienced....I just wish the narrator didn't try so hard to do the accents because she's not great at them & it just winds up being kind of uncomfortable.
Read full review

- susan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-06-2010
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio