Shadow of the Giant : The Enderverse

  • by Orson Scott Card
  • Narrated by David Birney, Scott Brick, Full Cast
  • Series: The Enderverse
  • 12 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bean, once the smallest student at the Battle School, and Ender Wiggin's right hand, has grown to be a power on Earth. He served the Hegemon as strategist and general in the terrible wars that followed Ender's defeat of the alien empire attacking Earth. Now he wishes for a safe place to build a family, something he has never known, but there is nowhere on Earth that does not harbor his enemies; old enemies from the days in Ender's Jeesh, new enemies from the wars on Earth. To find security, Bean and Petra must once again follow in Ender's footsteps. They must leave Earth behind, in the control of the Hegemon, and look to the stars.


What the Critics Say

"The novels of Orson Scott Card's Ender series are an intriguing combination of action, military and political strategy, elaborate war games, and psychology." ( USA Today)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Let's me forgive the last two in the series.

This book redeems the previous two books in the series and I am now happy that I finished the "Shadow" series. The storyline speeds up and improves in this book compared to the previous two offerings and the whole saga is nicely rounded off.

I still hold that by writing these Shadow books, OSC has undermined the original four "Ender" books, mainly eroding the strength of character and actions of Ender and Peter Wiggin. This is a shame, as these two characters had been so well worked on and developed by OSC in the original series that they each had a magically unique aura by the series end.

Nevertheless, reading the eight books has been a great experience and I would strongly recommend reading the first seven to reach this brilliant book. I will probably continue with the other 3 books in what has been termed the "Enderverse".
Read full review

- Peter

Slightly better, but still a shadow on Enders Game

Finally, the series of Bean has been completed. The series started off so well, but really trailed off. The conclusion was pretty predictable and took some time to reach that conclusion.

The audio itself is not too bad, nothing to write home about. If you have read to this book, you may as well continue and complete the series.
Read full review

- GhostMuppet

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-03-2005
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio