Shaman's Crossing : Soldier Son Trilogy

  • by Robin Hobb
  • Narrated by Jonathan Barlow
  • Series: Soldier Son Trilogy
  • 21 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Young Nevare Burvelle is the second son of a second son. Traditionally in Gernia, the firstborn son is heir to the family fortunes, the second son bears a sword and the third son is consecrated to the priesthood. Nevare will follow his father - newly made a lord by the King - into the cavalry; to the frontier and thence to an advantageous marriage, to carry on the Burvelle name. It is a golden future, and Nevare looks forward to it with relish. For twenty years King Troven's cavalry have pushed the frontiers of Gernia out across the grasslands, subduing the fierce tribes of the plain on its way. Now they have driven the frontier as far as the Barrier Mountains, home to the enigmatic Speck people.
The Specks - a dapple-skinned, forest-dwelling folk - retain the last vestiges of magic in a world which is becoming progressive and technologized. The 'civilised' peoples base their beliefs on a rational philosophy founded on scientific principle and a belief in the good god, who displaced the older deities of their world. To them, the Specks are primeval savages, little better than beasts.
Superstitions abound; it is said that they harbour strange diseases and worship trees. Sexual congress with them is regarded as both filthy and foolhardy: the Speck plague which has ravaged the frontier has decimated entire regiments. All these beliefs will touch Nevare's training at the Academy; but his progress there is not as simple as he would wish. He will experience prejudice from the old aristocracy: as the son of a 'new noble' he is segregated into a patrol comprising other new nobles' sons, all of whom will encounter injustice, discrimination and foul play in that hostile and deeply competitive environment. In addition, his world view will be challenged by his unconventional girl-cousin Epiny; and by the bizarre dreams which visit him at night. And then, on Dark Evening, the circus comes to Old Thares, bringing with it the first Specks Nevare has ever seen…
The first book in the Soldier Son trilogy, from the author of the Farseer, Liveship Traders and Tawny Man trilogies.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

as good as the Fitz books

didnt have my hopes too high for this after reading the Fitz books but was just as enjoyable
Read full review

- Jordon

Mesmerising, as always.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would recommend this book for it drew me in completely. I loved thr Liveship trilogy and the Farseer trilogy and this was just as good. Her characters stay with you as if they are family.

What other book might you compare Shaman's Crossing to, and why?

Of course I compare it to her other trilogies. Once I started, I only wanted more! Be warned.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

I always think of Nevare's time in the academy as my favourite moments, especially having finished the trilogy. I guess I look back in them with the same nostalgia as Nevare would. All I ever did was root for him in fulfilling his dreams, but knowing Hobb, I was aware it would not be straightforward.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

There were many powerful moments, all of which were made more impressive by the talent of the narrator. For fear of spoiling it, I won't say which was my favourite.

Any additional comments?

I got this book in time for getting a full back tattoo. I would listen to this book while the tattoo artist listened to her music. Not only would I recommend this book for relaxing to, it gives you pain tolerance beyond belief. I was so absorbed in the story that 15 hours of being tattooed was a breeze, even enjoyable.

Read full review

- Nicola

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-11-2012
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited