Soul of the World

  • by David Mealing
  • Narrated by Rebecca Hamilton
  • 24 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As the fires of revolution rage....
The city of New Sarresant simmers with discontent. Civil war looms as the Crown's authority is challenged by revolutionaries. Sarine, a young street artist, only cares about surviving - and staying one step ahead of the law. Yet her hidden powers will draw the attention of both royalists and rebels, and soon she will have to decide whose side she is really on.
And chaos spreads across a continent....
On the battlefields, General Erris d'Arrant must lead the armies of New Sarresant against its rivals in the south. Yet the enemy seems to know her plans before she even makes them. Erris needs to find out how, but the truth will be far darker than she could have imagined.
Three heroes must rise or the world will fall....
In the forests, Aruk'Jur wields an ancient magic that keeps his people safe. Yet the prophecies that have always guided his people have become corrupted, and war between the tribes seems inevitable - unless he can find a way to prevent bloodshed.
With its gripping action scenes, vibrant characters and imaginative magic system, Soul of the World is epic fantasy at its very best - a stellar debut from a major new talent.
Look out for Blood of the Gods, book two in the Ascension Cycle, coming May 2018.


What the Critics Say

"Compelling characters and a unique magic system…. Mealing does a fabulous job with the intricate world-building and leaves the reader wanting to get their hands on the sequel." (RT Book Reviews)
"Imaginative and elaborate epic fantasy [with] strong characters and rich worldbuilding." (Publishers Weekly)
"A compelling read, one that's all the more extraordinary since it's a debut work: rarely have I encountered such a level of narrative control and sophistication in a first novel." (Space and Sorcery)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 29-06-2017
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK