Stars

  • by Janis Ian (editor), Mike Resnick
  • Narrated by Janis Ian, Gabrielle De Cuir, Emily Rankin, Stefan Rudnicki, Susan Hanfield, Kathe Mazur, Paul Boehmer, Kristoffer Tabori
  • 20 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Janis Ian and 30 top science fiction writers team up to create an astonishing book of original short fiction. Stars is a huge anthology in both volume and talent. Each story, available only here, is based on a Janis Ian song that meant something special to the author, who then wrote the story expressly for Stars, creating a meld of jazz, prose, and science fiction found nowhere else - a treasure trove for fans of both SF and Janis Ian!
Ian, who won the Grammy Award for spoken-word entertainment for Society's Child, joins the cast of this intimate and unique audiobook to narrate portions of Stars and also to perform the music that inspired each story.
This edition of Stars also features an original new story by Michael Swanwick, "For I Have Lain Me Down on the Stone of Loneliness and I'll Not Be Back Again", based on "Mary's Eyes", a Janis Ian song that has always moved him to tears.
Stars was compiled and edited by Mike Resnick and Janis Ian and includes stories by Nebula winners and such science fiction greats as Joe Haldeman, Jane Yolen, Gregory Benford, Orson Scott Card, and more. It also includes Ian's first original story, "Prayerville".
As Janis herself says, "The stories have heart. They have life. They have truth. They move me. As an artist, I can ask for nothing more."

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Music that inspires

Any additional comments?

I stumbled upon Stars while listening to one of the most beautiful books I've ever read: Janis Ian's Society's Child. Being a fan of science fiction, I got intrigued - you don't get to read short stories based on music very often. Boy was it good! But not in the "cool stories" sense. I rather loved the book for its diversity and authenticity. Diversity, because I got to know authors I've never read before (and some I loved, while the others are surely not my type). Authenticity, because it somehow felt... Real. It was real Janis singing before every story, real authors writing about real songs I've heard. It is sort of like magic, really - Janis somehow managed to make it all so personal I was sure the narrator was reading the story to me and me alone. So yes, if you like stories, you should read the book. It will inspire you, just like music does.

Read full review

- Ernesta Orlovaitė

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-01-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios