Stone of Farewell : Memory, Sorrow & Thorn

  • by Tad Williams
  • Narrated by Andrew Wincott
  • Series: Memory, Sorrow & Thorn
  • 32 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The stunning second novel in Tad Williams' classic fantasy series, Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, set in the fantasy world of Osten Ard.
Following a brutal civil war, Osten Ard has been crushed under the rule of the two villainous High Kings. A single hope remains: if the rebels can find the three swords of legend - Memory, Sorrow and Thorn - they might be able to bring the Storm King and evil King Elias down.
Once but a humble kitchen boy, Simon is now Simon Snowlock, dragonslayer and bearer of the mythical sword Thorn. But Simon is more alone than ever before: his friends have been imprisoned, and his liege lord, Prince Joshua, has been exiled. And the Storm King may also be in possession of one of the swords....
A single chance remains: if Simon can deliver Thorn to Joshua and lead his followers to the Stone of Farewell, the rebels may be able to muster the forces necessary to rise up against Elias and the Storm King. But no one knows where the Stone of Farewell is. Or, indeed, what it is....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Still trotting pace, not a gallop

It's so difficult for me to review these books. I'm trying hard not to be overly critical because the pace doesn't quite suit me.

This is slightly faster paced than the first book, but hardly a gallop.

I tend to judge a book by my desire to keep my headphones in at every opportunity. Cooking, ironing, commuting (even in the bath). If it's one of those books that's grabbed me, my headphones are in and my family is moaning at me for being non-communicative. Not so with this book. I went for days at a time without listening..... On the positive side, it doesn't matter if your attention wonders for a bit, it's probable you wont miss anything hugely significant, so it's a good book if you're needing to concentrate on other stuff simultaneously.

The characters are still good, and true to the first book, and no gaping holes in the plot (so far - or that I've noticed....but I might have dozed off and missed them).

If you're happy with good writing, but at a gentle pace, or you loved the first book in the series, then you should enjoy this.

I still haven't downloaded book 3 in the series, though I imagine I probably will at some stage as I will want to know what happens in this story..... I just need a change of scenery for a bit.
Read full review

- Robyn

Now the story is really building!

A other great performance by Andrew wincott. I really started to get drawn in this book. Much like the creeping winter in the book this series takes it easy but slowly grows on you. There is a much faster pace to this book the the first and the characters are really starting to gain some depth. Im Really looking forward to seeing what happens in the next installment. There are still many unanswered questions..
As I said these books aren't great on their own and should not be regarded or judged seperately. I can feel that they are just a l parts of an epic whole. If you have patience then read on!
Read full review

- Adam Evans

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-11-2015
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton