Storm Assault : Star Force

  • by B.V. Larson
  • Narrated by Mark Boyett
  • Series: Star Force
  • 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Kyle Riggs has been away from Earth for a long time… but that's about to change.
In Storm Assault , the eighth book of the Star Force series, the story moves in a new direction. Massive fleets are built by both Star Force and the Imperials - but there is a third player in the game: the Blues.
A three-way battle for the known star systems breaks out, with the fates of many worlds and species hanging in the balance. Riggs realizes he must destroy his enemies before they destroy him. Seeking justice and revenge, he gathers his strength and ventures out on a mission of conquest from the Eden System. Humanity must fight to survive, and Riggs is the right man for the job.
Storm Assault is a military science-fiction novel by best-selling author B. V. Larson. To listen to the series in its entirety, start with Swarm (Book 1).


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not the best of the series but still great

The adventure continues in its own high energy way, but somehow it didn't match the previous books. Perhaps because they return to the well trodden theme of Earth and Jack Crow and they've done that too much already. I much prefer it when they're off discovering new world and species.
Read full review

- S. Griffiths

Cool Title, Cool Story

Storm Assault is the eighth in the Star Force series and yet again B V Larson delivers the goods. I'd have to say that I enjoyed the previous book, Annihilation slightly better as that dealt with direct conflict and hand-to-hand or should that be hand-to-appendage combat with the machines in the form of the Macros. However, Storm Assault is another enthralling read from Larson and I've yet to be disappointed in any of his stories. Sure, some of them are slightly more enjoyable or action packed than others but on the whole there is not a bad book in the series at all which in itself is a testament to the authors ability to churn out these books in rapid succession and all of high quality.

Storm Assault (Cool title by the way) sees Riggs finally turn his attentions toward Earth and dealing with the megalomaniac dictator, Emperor Crow. This has been a long time coming but Larson has rightly taken his time and wove a story that has built to this point in a natural and believable way rather than rush events along too quickly. No story spoilers here but I will say that I am starting to feel a little sad to be approaching the end of this series which I think runs to 12 main books in the Star Force series discounting spin-offs and stand alone stories set within the same universe. I am waiting on Larson to publish the next in the excellent Undying Mercenaries series which I hope Audible has before I reach the end of this series. I will also have to seek out other works by Larson to try and tide me over in the meantime.

Storm Assault sees Larson bring in a new and viscerally terrifying combatant that only Larson can come up with. He has inserted something akin to what we might find in one of his Undying Mercenaries series of books. Larson has a way of coming up with highly imaginative and horrible things that strike primal fear into the average human. Many science fiction authors tend to shy away from the more nightmarish creation that this writer comes up with in favour of more cerebral constructs and this is another reason why I've come to enjoy Larson's work so much. His plots are easy to comprehend and will not leave you requiring a PhD in science and / or philosophy to understand which makes for a refreshing change to some of the heavier science fiction out there.

Any review I write wouldn't be quite complete without my mention of some errors which in this case I would have to say point toward Larson as the author slipping up. I was confused when I first heard mention in this book of the "Blues" home planet as being "Eden 11". I felt certain that I had heard this as Eden 12 in previous books and found out later in this book my feelings were correct when it was stated once more as being Eden 12 where the Blues come from. It was also stated when referring to a new nasty that Crow had made that they had found these crawling about the hull of the Defiant. The Defiant had been lost earlier in the book and I suspect the ship should've been the Relentless instead. As before, I only point these very minor errors out for the sake of completeness and to say that if Larson's publishers would like to give me a job proof reading his books that I'd be more than happy to do so!

Storm Assault leaves us at story's end with an entirely new situation for Riggs and this paves the way for the following book which I will be downloading as soon as I post this review!

Another recommended read from B V Larson.
Read full review

- S. Morris

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-10-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios