• Sudden Decompression

  • By: Nathan Meyer
  • Narrated by: Joe Matic
  • Length: 2 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 27-09-12
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Nathan E Meyer
  • 2 out of 5 stars 2.0 (1 rating)

Summary

"Out of every 100 men, 10 shouldn't even be there, 80 are just targets, nine are the real fighters, and we are lucky to have them, for they make the battle. Ah, but the one, one is a warrior and he will bring the others back." (Heraclitus, 5 B.C)
Sometimes the last man standing is a woman: The Near Future, a balkanized Earth drowns in greed and violence. Kali Muse, private military contractor on the shuttle Whiskey & Water, earns a living in Hostile Salvage, pulling artifacts and forgotten wealth out of the poisoned rubble of the planet's numerous hot zones. Constantly trying to outrun her haunted past she pulls a long forgotten secret from a desiccated corpse, changing the course of her life.
"You can't spell slaughter without laughter." (Anonymous)
Possession of the salvaged information threatens to change the delicate political balance of the world, setting Kali on a collision course with murderous government agencies, ruthless mercenaries and worst of all; her ex-lover.
"Your current plans remind me of act four in Julius Caesar," Tom said. "In act five, everyone falls on their swords." (Stephen King, Cell)
Sudden Decompression is a fast paced para-military Science Fiction novel revolving around external conflict, personal betrayal and the price of loyalty. Fans of David Drake and John Ringo will find the action they demand mixed with an astute exploration of what our world will look like 15-minutes-into-the-future.
©2012 Nathan Meyer (P)2012 Nathan Meyer
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £5.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £5.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Hannah on 30-11-12

pretty bad

This story is so-so. It was motivating enough to keep me running, but the narration is execrable.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews