Talon of the Silver Hawk : Riftwar Cycle

  • by Raymond E. Feist
  • Narrated by Peter Joyce
  • Series: Riftwar Cycle
  • 13 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A sweeping epic fantasy series from worldwide best-selling author Raymond E. Feist.
Featuring one of the most fascinating characters and scenarios ever created in the genre, The Conclave of Shadows promises to become one of the great all-time classics in the field.
Among the Orosini tribe, every boy must undergo the traditional manhood ritual in order to understand his place in the universe and discover his manhood name. Kielianapuna must survive on the remote mountain peak of Shatana Higo until the gods grant him his vision. But Kieli has already waited for four days and nights, and now he is cold, lonely, despairing, and very, very tired...
When he is woken by the terrifying sensation of sharp claws piercing his skin and finds a rare silver hawk upon his arm, it is such a disorientating moment that he is not sure whether it has even happened or whether it is a vision.
Returning to his home, nameless and still a child, Kieli stumbles upon devastation. His village is being burned, his people slaughtered. Although it means certain death, Kieli throws himself into the battle.... Against all the odds, he survives--the only Orosini, who have been cut down where they stand: every last man, woman, and child.
A distant voice echoes in his mind: Rise up and be a talon for your people...The visitation of the bird on Shatana Higo was indeed his naming vision. He is a boy called Kielianapuna no more. Now he is Talon of the Silver Hawk, a man who must avenge the murder of his people, whatever that may take.


What the Critics Say

"Talon of the Silver Hawk is a vibrant and compelling tale." (Dreamwatch)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another great yarn.

Yet another first rate story and narration. Lots of plotting, action and exquisite detail. I can't wait to listen to part two; King of Foxes. Might have to buy extra credits to avoid waiting.
Read full review

- redfeend

Really enjoyed this 4 book series

I'm about half way through Feist's saga and I have to say before I started this trilogy I was beginning to get a bit fatigued of this saga with the trilogies started to feel the same.

This four book set was a surprising and pleasant change to the pattern and well worth a listen. You really do need to have listened to the previous ones otherwise parts of it will not make sense.

The first three books focus on the journey of one boy (growing into a man) and his ultimate goal of revenging the murder of his people. All standard stuff but it's all about the quality of the journey and he has told it well. The forth book goes in a slightly different direction - I won't say more as it would spoil the story, suffice to say it was a surprising and fleshing change of direction for the final book.

So if you into Feists mammoth saga then you can look forward to a high point when you get to this section!
Read full review

- Marc H

Book Details

  • Release Date: 29-01-2015
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited