The Algebraist

  • by Iain M. Banks
  • Narrated by Anton Lesser
  • 7 hrs and 42 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It is 4034 AD. Humanity has made it to the stars. Fassin Taak, a Slow Seer at the Court of the Nasqueron Dwellers, will be fortunate if he makes it to the end of the year. The Nasqueron Dwellers inhabit a gas giant on the outskirts of the galaxy, in a system awaiting its wormhole connection to the rest of civilisation. In the meantime, they are dismissed as decadents living in a state of highly developed barbarism, hoarding data without order, hunting their own young, and fighting pointless formal wars.Seconded to a military-religious order he's barely heard of, part of the baroque hierarchy of the Mercatoria, the latest galactic hegemony, Fassin Taak has to travel again amongst the Dwellers. He is in search of a secret hidden for half a billion years. But with each day that passes, a war draws closer, a war that threatens to overwhelm everything and everyone he's ever known.As complex, turbulent, flamboyant, and spectacular as the gas giant on which it is set, the new science fiction novel from Iain M. Banks is space opera on a truly epic scale.


What the Critics Say

"Once again Banks is having enormous fun with space opera, and his exuberant enjoyment is infectious. Highly readable stuff." (


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Maths can be fun

Superbly written, as one would expect from Banks. Also an exiting listen, and I really hope that more will be added to Audible's library soon. Here`s hoping time does not run out...
Read full review

- Patrick


Iain Banks could write a parking ticket and I would probably read it 1000 times and smile with glee. The man is a genius and the only author I would have to dinner. Anton Lesser reads this better than any other audiobook I have (and I have a few), his nuance and fleshing out of the characters is so subtle and correct whilst not being dramatic..this is a near perfect audiobook on all fronts.
Read full review

- ben

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-02-2006
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK