The Ascendant Stars : Humanity's Fire

  • by Michael Cobley
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • Series: Humanity's Fire
  • 18 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Battle-ready factions converge above Darien, all with the same objective. The goal is control over this newly discovered planet and access to the powerful weapons at its heart. Despotic Hegemony forces dominate much of known space and they want this world too, but Darien's inhabitants will fight for their future.
However, key players in this conflict aren't fully in control. Hostile AIs have infiltrated key minds and have an agenda, requiring nothing less than the destruction or subversion of all organic life. And they are near to unleashing their cohorts, a host of twisted machine intelligences caged beneath Darien.
Fighting to contain them are Darien's hidden guardians, and their ancient ally the Construct, on a millennia-long mission to protect sentient species. As the war reaches its peak, the AI army is roaring to the surface, to freedom and an orgy of destruction. Darien is first in line in a machine vs. human war - for life or the sterile dusts of space.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

brilliant conclusion to the series.

a great raed from start to end very well narated indeed and looking forward to future stories
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Whew ...

Well Michael Cobley certainly can paint a vast and and vibrant universe! The story moves through the levels of hyperspace, huge digital zones and across planets and alien societies. The characters are a little too either 'goodies' or 'baddies' but they're pretty well written and the plot is rich enough to keep them on their toes. The narrator David Thorpe does a magnificent job of handling the accents and voices of every character and his tone is spot on - I'll certainly be getting more of his works. The whole trilogy reminds me of Babylon 5, and would probably be more suited to a younger reader than me (as I've had my scifi innocence worn away over the years by the likes of Iain M. Banks, Peter F. Hamilton and Neal Asher) but overall a very enjoyable 19 hours of intergalactic escapism in their company - thank you.
Read full review

- M

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-11-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios