The Children of the Sky : Zones of Thought

  • by Vernor Vinge
  • Narrated by Oliver Wyman
  • Series: Zones of Thought
  • 27 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After nearly twenty years, Vernor Vinge has produced an enthralling sequel to his memorable best-selling novel A Fire Upon the Deep.
Ten years have passed on Tines World, where Ravna Bergnsdot and a number of human children ended up after a disaster that nearly obliterated humankind throughout the galaxy. Ravna and the pack animals for which the planet is named have survived a war, and Ravna has saved more than one hundred children who were in cold-sleep aboard the vessel that brought them.
While there is peace among the Tines, there are those among them - and among the humans - who seek power… and no matter the cost, these malcontents are determined to overturn the fledgling civilization that has taken root since the humans landed.
On a world of fascinating wonders and terrifying dangers, Vernor Vinge has created a powerful novel of adventure and discovery that will entrance the many readers of A Fire Upon the Deep. Filled with the inventiveness, excitement, and human drama that have become hallmarks of his work, this new novel is sure to become another great milestone in Vinge’s already stellar career.


What the Critics Say

"Vinge is undeniably one of the greatest hard science fiction writers to put pen to paper, and he can easily be compared to such greats as Arthur C. Clarke, Poul Anderson, or Stanislaw Lem." ( Wired) "[T]he near-perfect balance of science fiction's twin traditions of wild speculation and high-intensity storytelling.... Vinge's explosive imagination and deft storytelling make epics zip past like hummingbirds - you'll steal daytime moments to read more, and lie awake at night contemplating what you've read." (


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

As brilliant as every other Vernor Vinge novel

This is the third book in a series entitled Queng Ho; the first two having been written in the 1990s. It is a novel that can be enjoyed stand-alone; pretty much the situation for me as I had read the other two way back when they were published. The storyline is planet-bound, situated in one of the author’s galactic “zones” where only very basic technology will function. It recounts the interactions of a native intelligent species and a group of refugee humans that crash-landed there a decade earlier (that crash-landing being part of the plot from the earlier books).

What Vernor Vinge has created here is a masterpiece. His development of the planet’s indigenous species is utterly superb. The ecology of the planet itself is richly described. The various relationships between humans and natives are complex. The underlying story is intriguing and full of twisting plots. On top of this is a first-class narration from someone who fully understands what he is reading. I can report no flaws whatsoever and I highly recommend this book to everyone.
Read full review

- decco999

so disappointing

loved the last Vinge opus I read. found this difficult to get into and never felt like I couldn't wait to listen to next chapter.
Read full review

- W. B. Quigley

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-10-2011
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio