The Dark Ability : The Dark Ability

  • by D. K. Holmberg
  • Narrated by Vikas Adam
  • Series: The Dark Ability
  • 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Exiled by his family. Claimed by thieves. Could his dark ability be the key to his salvation?
Rsiran is a disappointment to his family, gifted with the ability to Slide. It is a dark magic, one where he can transport himself wherever he wants, but using it will only turn him into the thief his father fears.
Forbidden from Sliding, he's apprenticed under his father as a blacksmith where lorcith, a rare, precious metal with arcane properties, calls to him, seducing him into forming forbidden blades. When discovered, he's banished, sentenced indefinitely to the mines of Ilphaesn Mountain.
Though Rsiran tries to serve obediently, to learn to control the call of lorcith as his father demands, when his life is threatened in the darkness of the mines, he finds himself Sliding back to Elaeavn, where he finds a black market for his blades - and a new family of thieves.
There someone far more powerful than him discovers what he can do and intends to use him. He doesn't want to be a pawn in anyone's ambitions; all he ever wanted was a family. But the darkness inside him cannot be ignored - and he's already embroiled in an ancient struggle that only he may be able to end.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

i was initially cautious but...

I'd read a mixed range of reviews around the book. however as I was drawn to the book and story I thought 'Well its only a book lets try it.' it proved a good choice for me. I enjoyed the early slowish development of characters and introduction into the new world.
I found it a pleasure to read and was interested in the next book very quickly. Almost finished the second book - (1 hour left and a long trip coming up) and bought the third book.

I have enjoyed the readers performance . The voices are just a little different which enables you to follow the main characters fairly easy without lots of over delivery. its been a pleasure to enter this world.
Read full review

- Colin A. Mcgee

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-07-2017
  • Publisher: Audible Studios