The Deathbird & Other Stories

  • by Harlan Ellison
  • Narrated by Harlan Ellison, Theodore Bikel, Stefan Rudnicki, Arte Johnson
  • 8 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a prolific career spanning more than 50 years, Harlan Ellison has been the acclaimed master of speculative fiction. In fact, a 1999 Locus poll named him the all-time best writer of short fiction as well as the editor of the all-time best anthology (Dangerous Visions). In addition to his dozens of Hugo, Nebula, and Locus Awards, Ellison has won two Edgar Awards from the Mystery Writers of America, and multiple Bram Stoker Awards from the Horror Writers Association (including the Lifetime Achievement Award). As an audiobook narrator, he's twice won Audie Awards and been nominated for a Grammy Award.
The Deathbird & Other Stories presents, for the first time in audio, 13 of Ellison’s classic stories:
"Ellison Wonderland"
"The Deathbird" (Hugo & Locus winner; Nebula nominee)
"The Creation of Water"
"Run for the Stars"
"Croatoan" (Hugo nominee)
"The Beast Who Shouted Love at the Heart of the World" (Hugo winner)
"On the Slab"
"The Man Who Rowed Christopher Columbus Ashore" (Nebula nominee)
"The Dreams a Nightmare Dreams"
"The Whimper of Whipped Dogs"
"Killing Bernstein"
"Count the Clock That Tells the Time" (Locus winner; Hugo nominee)
"How Interesting: A Tiny Man" (Nebula winner)
“Ellison Wonderland” © 1994 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “The Deathbird” © 1973 by Harlan Ellison. Renewed 2001 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “The Creation of Water” © 1994 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “Run for the Stars”© 1957 by Harlan Ellison. Renewed 1985 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “Croatoan”© 1975 by Harlan Ellison. Renewed 2003 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “The Beast That Shouted Love at the Heart of the World” © 1968 by Harlan Ellison. Renewed 1996 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “On the Slab”© 1981 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “The Man Who Rowed Christopher Columbus Ashore”© 1991 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “The Dreams a Nightmare Dreams”© 1994 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “The Whimper of Whipped Dogs” © 1973 by Harlan Ellison. Renewed 2001 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “Killing Bernstein” © 1976 by Harlan Ellison. Renewed 2004 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “Count the Clock That Tells the Time” © 1978 by Harlan Ellison. Renewed 2006 by The Kilimanjaro Corporation. “How Interesting: A Tiny Man” © 2010 by Harlan Ellison. All stories written by Harlan Ellison. All rights reserved.


What the Critics Say

"All the narrators are wonderful...However, Ellison as narrator surpasses them all. Once you have heard Ellison read his ownwork, it is impossible to imagine it spoken by anyone else. It’s not simply that Ellison is a terrific voice actor; it’s that he inhabits his writing like a hand wears a glove. If you love Ellison, you have to have this. Highly recommended." (Locus)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ellison epitomizes originality

Expect the best of original story telling. Put all your preconceived ideas of what 'short-story' is. Ellison has always operated on a whole different level to the rest--and that goes for Stephen King, as well. Beautifully written (and read), The Deathbird collection is only volume 4 in a wonderful series from the master of, 'I never saw THAT coming'-fiction. Twilight Zone? Outer Limits? Enjoy.
Read full review

- Michael

An eclectic collection

Would you try another book written by Harlan Ellison or narrated by the narrators?

No, I didn't really enjoy this collection of short stories. They have not aged well, I understand that this is usually the case with collected stories from the body of an authors work but in this case i found it to be particularly jarring.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

I really could not get into many or the stories but I guess hearing the authors reflections on his early work and it's shortfalls was at least interesting. However it did not make up for the content in my opinion.

Have you listened to any of the narrators’s other performances? How does this one compare?


Could you see The Deathbird & Other Stories being made into a movie or a TV series? Who would the stars be?

Can't really see it these days although it's reminiscent of old outer limits and twilight zone.

Any additional comments?

I was disappointed because I bought this after reading Neil Gaiman's American gods. He said he'd spent a lot of time reading and rereading this book before he wrote it and I was interested to get an insight into its genesis. To be fair this isn't the books fault, it is what it is. I just found that after a few stories I was no longer really interested in it.

Read full review

- Steven

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-05-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios