• The Earth Will Shake

  • The Historical Illuminatus Chronicles Vol. I
  • By: Robert Anton Wilson
  • Narrated by: Scot Crisp
  • Length: 12 hrs
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 26-06-07
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Deepleaf Audio
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.1 (15 ratings)


They have been with us throughout the ages: the "Invisible College" of wisdom and their adversaries, the destroyers. The history of the world is their story - a conspiracy as vast as time itself.
Naples, Italy, circa 1764: A young aristocrat is about to stumble onto one piece of the great pattern. As witness to a vicious assassination and victim of his passion for the beautiful daughter of his enemy, young Sigismundo Celine is forced to begin a mystical odyssey amidst an ageless clash of Freemasons, Mafia, and the Illuminati.
Sigismundo begins his journey of discovery accompanied by the boy Mozart, the immortal Dr. Frankenstein, and the infamous Casanova as the forces of light and darkness seek to claim him for their own. For all are certain that he is the long-awaited one whose powers - can he but master them - will remold the destiny of the entire world.
Before Dan Brown, Umberto Eco, and The X-Files, there was Robert Anton Wilson and The Historical Illuminatus Chronicles. Beginning in 1982 with The Earth Will Shake, Wilson set out to trace the conspiratorial and philosophical underpinnings of Western history. By the third and final novel, the Chronicles expose the historical cross-currents of Freemasonry, the American Revolution, Rosicrucians, the Marquis de Sade, and the Illuminati, revealing a saga as elaborate and startling as history ought to be!
©1982 Robert Anton Wilson (P)2006 Deepleaf Productions Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"A delicious treat....Wilson is a vivid portraitist with a perfervid imagination, and he regales his readers with occasional infusions of wit. Buy and enjoy." ( Analog)
"More important than Ulysses or Finnegan's Wake" (Timothy Leary)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £20.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £20.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By caroline on 09-06-11


Interesting, great narration, great book that offers something different, i have now got his trilogy,fantastic.
2 3

Read more Hide me

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kamal on 13-09-07

A powerful start to the series

While starting out a little slowly (not for lack of drama - the book starts with a murder during Sunday mass in the church), the book steadily builds up momentum while weaving together narrative threads like the complementary harmonics of a sonata.

Intrigue, murder, lust, revenge, class conflict, conspiracy, the book covers the gamut of topics and ties them together in the central character of a somewhat likeable, but very human, Napoli musician - Sigismundo. Starting with the character aged 14 years, and following him for the next six to seven years, the book takes him through his slow maturation while introducing an increasingly complex series of plot elements.

Where is the rest of the series, I need closure!

Read more Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 06-06-09

Not for Everyone

If you are easily offended by material which questions orthodoxy, stay away from this book, but if you are interested in alternative views of the Universe and the nature of gods and men in the Universe, this book may be for you. While the narration could have been better, it didn't undermine an interesting and thought-provoking story.

Another thing to consider is that this story ends very abruptly just about the time that it gets going strong. Considering that the sequel, The Widow's Son, has been out for awhile and has yet to make an appearance on Audible, don't expect to get closure any time soon.

I wish the rest of this series as well as the Schroedinger's Cat trilogy were currently available. Oh, well, a boy can dream.

Read more Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all reviews