The Eye of the World : Wheel of Time

  • by Robert Jordan
  • Narrated by Kate Reading, Michael Kramer
  • Series: Wheel of Time
  • 29 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When their village is attacked by trollocs, monsters thought to be only legends, three young men, Rand, Matt, and Perrin, flee in the company of the Lady Moiraine, a sinister visitor of unsuspected powers. Thus begins an epic adventure set in a world of wonders and horror, where what was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.


Audible Editor Reviews

What the Critics Say

"Jordan has come to dominate the world that Tolkien began to reveal." ( The New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Epic fantasy at its best. Delighted there are so many books in the series as this will solve the commuting boredom problem for many weeks yet!

Very much like Brandon Sanderson (or rather, Brandon Sanderson is very like Robert Jordan). Reminds me of Sanderson's Stormlight book - a very similar feel.

The narration is good - perhaps not the best I have ever heard, but it doesn't detract from the story at all.

Occasionally I would like the female characters to be slightly different from each other - they all seem to be cut from the same cloth, and therefore are a little predictable and perhaps a little boring, but the storyline itself is compelling, and you can't help but download the next book in the series immediately the current one finishes (I am about to download number 5 - still happily enjoying it all).

Read full review

- Robyn

Excellent series ... until book 8

I have been listening through this series for a few months now and really enjoying it. I would have given 5 starts to it apart from some of the slightly repetitive statements. Then I got to book 8 and it is not available (the other 10 are), having contacted Audible they informed me that they have not yet got the license for it. I have to say that has put the dampers on my listening pleasure.
If you are thinking about starting this epic listening experience I would wait until it is available.

Read full review

- Mark

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-12-2007
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio