The Fires of Heaven : Wheel of Time

  • by Robert Jordan
  • Narrated by Kate Reading, Michael Kramer
  • Series: Wheel of Time
  • 36 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this sequel to the phenomenal New York Times best seller The Shadow Rising, Robert Jordan again plunges us into his extraordinarily rich, totally unforgettable world:...Into the forbidden city of Rhuidean, where Rand al'Thor, now the Dragon Reborn, must conceal his present endeavor from all about him, even Egwene and Moiraine....Into the Amyrlin's study in the White Tower, where Amyrlin, Flaida do Avriny a 'Roihan, is weaving new plans....Into the luxurious hidden chamber where the Forsaken Rahvin is meeting with three of his fellows to ensure their ultimate victory over the Dragon....Into the Queen's court in Caemlyn, where Morgase is curiously in thrall to the handsome Lord Gaebril.For once the Dragon walks the land, the fires of Heaven fall where they will, until all men's lives are ablaze. And in Shayol Ghul, the Dark One stirs.


What the Critics Say

"Jordan deftly weaves details from previous books into this narrative." (Publishers Weekly)
"Fires of Heaven upholds the very high standards of this major fantasy epic, with battle scenes, comic interludes, and character development all reaching perhaps the highest point in a work that has lacked for none of these." (Booklist)
"Jordan's epic saga of a world threatened by evil incarnate builds steadily as separate strands of a complex plot begin to come together. Fans of this richly detailed and vividly imagined series will not be disappointed." (Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Done it! Listened while working through the whole 14 books. Not bad - not brilliant either. Too much describing of what are people wearing, limited dictionary of dialogues and male-female relationships/interactions painfully similar, predictable -boring (Mr Freud would find it certainly interesting though :)

Maybe because English isn't my first language, maybe I'm spoiled by other writers or maybe Robert Jordan just isn't my type of author but haven't I been working at the time of listening I would considered it time wasted.
Read full review

- Frantisek

Return to the Wetlands

First of all I must ask forgiveness for my review of Book 6, which I wrote before writing this review. I stated therein that the battle at the end of Book 6 at Dumai's Wells was the first real battle since the taking of Tear at the end of Book 3. However, clearly this is not the case as in book 5 there is a major battle for Cairhien with the Shaido. Not to play this battle down, either as it is when Mat begins to command his own troops through loyalty and strategy gained through his forrays into the Aiel Waste in Book 4.
There are several key battles, however, through the book which just take your breath away, and the battle for Cairhien was not one of them, though it is well presented and exciting enough to move the story along. The battle at Dumai's Wells was the next key battle in my opinion.
However, the rest of the book far exceeds expectations as characters really develop, Elaine and Nynaeve running from Tanchico, trying to find the rebel Aes Sedai, and avoid Elaidas attempts to capture them. Egwene, learning the crafts of the wise women Aiel and developing as a dream-walker. One wonders if maybe Egwene is Taveren as well as Mat, Perrin and Rand!
Rand finally finds a teacher of Saidin, though in the most unlikely of places, and he starts to really develop as Aes Sedai in his own right. And it is here that Lews Therrin starts to coalesce in Rand's mind.
Read full review

- William Clements "Will"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-03-2005
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio