The Great Hunt : Wheel of Time

  • by Robert Jordan
  • Narrated by Kate Reading, Michael Kramer
  • Series: Wheel of Time
  • 26 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Wheel of Time turns and ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the age that gave it birth returns again.For centuries, gleemen have told the tales of The Great Hunt of the Horn. So many tales about each of the Hunters, and so many Hunters to tell of. Now, the Horn itself is found: the Horn of Valere long thought only legend, the Horn which will raise the dead heroes of the ages.And it is stolen.

More

What the Critics Say

"Jordan creates a lush, sprawling tapestry of a novel in the tradition of Tolkien and Eddings." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

As good as the 1st!


The Great Hunt takes up the reigns where the Eye Of The World leaves off, absorbing me into it's story and once again leaving me eager for more!

A story in it's own right, you could probably jump into this book without reading the first - but what a waste that would be!

Think 'Lord of the Rings' and you'll have an idea of the sort of book this is. Full of rich detail, complex, interesting, and exciting. The plot seems to twist and turn and unlike other books I've read the ending isn't transparent from the start.

Never a dull moment!

Excellent!

Read full review

- Anette Flewers

Seanchan Rising

This 2nd book is where Jordan really starts to take the reins in this series. Much like Paolini does with his sequel to Eragon. The first Paolini book was written like a 16 year old, learning the craft of writing for the first time. In Jordan's case the first book had parts that were very much written as if an exercise in fantasy writing. With Paolini, the 2nd book read like it was written by a different author! So much better! In this case, you still know it is Jordan, but the ending of the first book could easily have been turned to stand on it's own, though clearly Jordan wanted the series to continue. One might be reminded of Buffy the Vampire Slayer on TV. The first series was only half a series, designed to play out as it was, and if it did not continue, then so be it. Clearly a beautiful forray into TV story arcing resulted, and here the 2nd book in Wheel of Time is where the story really starts moving.
Rand needs to accept he is the chosen one, but really struggles with this. Forced into helping Mat save his life, bound to the fate of the Horn of Valere and the Ruby Hilted Dagger from Shadar Logoth, we see forsaken rise into the story, and visit old friends thought lost in the first book. And the battle on Almouth Plain towards the end with the Seanchan weaves the crossover to book 3 perfectly. As with all Wheel of Time books, this one can surely be listened to separately, but you should do the obligatory context thing, and not lose out on such a brilliant series. Book 14 comes out this year in April (2012), and you should either read, listen or both all of the books through 13!!
Read full review

- William Clements

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-05-2004
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio