The Great Hunt : Wheel of Time

  • by Robert Jordan
  • Narrated by Kate Reading, Michael Kramer
  • Series: Wheel of Time
  • 26 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Wheel of Time turns and ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the age that gave it birth returns again. For centuries, gleemen have told the tales of The Great Hunt of the Horn. So many tales about each of the Hunters, and so many Hunters to tell of. Now, the Horn itself is found: the Horn of Valere long thought only legend, the Horn which will raise the dead heroes of the ages.
And it is stolen.


Audible Editor Reviews

What the Critics Say

"Jordan creates a lush, sprawling tapestry of a novel in the tradition of Tolkien and Eddings." ( Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

As good as the 1st!

The Great Hunt takes up the reigns where the Eye Of The World leaves off, absorbing me into it's story and once again leaving me eager for more!

A story in it's own right, you could probably jump into this book without reading the first - but what a waste that would be!

Think 'Lord of the Rings' and you'll have an idea of the sort of book this is. Full of rich detail, complex, interesting, and exciting. The plot seems to twist and turn and unlike other books I've read the ending isn't transparent from the start.

Never a dull moment!


Read full review

- Anette Flewers

great but flawed

What did you like most about The Great Hunt?

the underlying story is conceptually great and engaging, very impressive. I just find the character models very basic...the interplay between men and women can be frankly irritating and somewhat juvenile. That aside the books each drive forward well, with each book marking a distinct step towards the end.

Who was your favorite character and why?

i guess Matt, just because he's the gambler/rogue type. Perrin is too much the boyscout, and Rand too much the brooding hero. Matt seems able to have a little irreverent fun.

Have you listened to any of Kate Reading and Michael Kramer ’s other performances? How does this one compare?

i have and they read them as well and professionally as others i've heard. I'm not particularly a fan of either's style, particularly Kate's to be honest...a little too stilted and dry, but that's a personal taste and isn't disliked enough to put me off.

Any additional comments?

these books are great, but let down a little by too many character threads that are never tied up and closed off, and poor female/male interplay/dialogue.
I've read all the books and am just re-listening to them at work in the background, as i don't need to pay full attention, already knowing the story...the books leave me occasionally enthralled and sadly sometimes annoyed.

Read full review

- m ward

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-05-2004
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio