The Inheritance : The Rain Wild Chronicles

  • by Robin Hobb
  • Narrated by Saskia Butler
  • Series: The Rain Wild Chronicles
  • 11 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A collection of short stories from one of the most critically acclaimed authors in the fantasy genre, Robin Hobb. Including work written under her pseudonym, Megan Lindholm. Bingtown heiresses rub shoulders in this wonderful collection with vampires and alien musicians, tramps and feral cats. In "The Homecoming", Lady Carillion Carrock and a number of other Jamaillian nobles are sailing to the Cursed Shores. Their journey is not by choice: for plotting against the Satrap, their wealth has been confiscated and they have been exiled. Until now, Carillion has done nothing but lead a life of privilege. She believes they are bound for wondrous cities, cities where ancient kings and queens dusted their skin with gold and wore jewels above their eyes. But when she is marooned by the ship’s unscrupulous captain, she will soon discover the grim reality of what survival in the Rain Wilds entails.
"The Silver Lady" is a would-be writer, eking out a dull existence by working in a Sears store. The one day a man comes in: fortyish, pleasant-looking. Nothing out of the ordinary. Except he says his name is Merlin, and he’s about to change her life. Rosemary got involved with the wrong man. Pell is lazy, good for nothing, a bully. Her best friend Hilia knew it and so did her tom cat, Marmalade. But love is blind: Rosemary had Pell’s baby, renovated the cottage his grandfather left in his will, turned its land to good use; and then he left her for another woman. Now he’s back, and something must be done…


What the Critics Say

“Robin Hobb writes achingly well.” (SFX)
"Hobb is a remarkable storyteller." (The Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is not the Rain Wild Chronicles book 0, but a collection of short stories. All but one has nothing to do it. The stories weren't bad but I only really enjoyed the last two. Saskia Butler's performance was as always entertaining.
I do wish Audible would be more careful about their labelling of book titles, I also read the St Mary's Chronicles and the same thing happened with that. It was advertised by Audible as book nine, when it is in fact a collection of short stories only one of which I hadn't heard before. Most annoying!
Read full review

- Bluedragon 14


Not so much a review as a mild complaint - I wish short story collections would come with a list of contents that tells you where each story starts! I wanted to listen to the Elderlings series stories in particular, but it was impossible to find them easily.
Read full review

- Jodie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-04-2011
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited