The John Carter Trilogy of Edgar Rice Burroughs : Barsoom

  • by Finn J.D. John, Edgar Rice Burroughs
  • Narrated by Finn J.D. John
  • Series: Barsoom
  • 19 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This Annotated Omnibus Edition contains the first three novels of Edgar Rice Burroughs' Martian tales (the Barsoom series).
The first of these novels, A Princess of Mars, was Burroughs' first book, and he wrote the next two novels in quick succession. Together they tell the story of John Carter of Mars - how he came to Mars, met the love of his life, and quickly found himself occupied full-time defending her and saving his adopted planet from interplanetary evildoers.
This trilogy opened the doors of popular science fiction to an entire nation and world. It launched the original pulp science fiction storyworld and series, often imitated but never duplicated, and has inspired four generations of young sci-fi and fantasy writers, artists, moviemakers and videogame designers.
And, of course, it's a ripping great story.
This Pulp-Lit Press Annotated Omnibus Edition takes those three novels together as a coherent story. Each is gracefully and unobtrusively annotated, to help the modern reader put it in the proper literary and historical context for maximum reading enjoyment. All annotations are presented together in a single chapter, easily skipped by readers who prefer to get on with the story.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Really enjoyed the commentry

At the end of each book you are treated to a short lesson that gives a outlines many of the historical references that would be completely lost today to a modern reader.
Read full review

- Kai

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-01-2015
  • Publisher: Pulp-Lit Press