Summary

Second in the breathtaking and terrifying Witch Hunt trilogy from the New York Times best seller. Samantha Ryan - homicide detective by choice, witch hunter by necessity - has left Salem for San Francisco, hoping a move will help her forget the horrors of her past. But she’s about to discover that witches tempted by the dark side are everywhere....Samantha is doing whatever she can to forget her terrible childhood in a coven destroyed by its members’ greed and lust for power. Now she’s a San Francisco detective struggling to fight her own desire to turn to magic. But as she discovers, escaping who you are isn’t easy.
Her latest case seems straightforward enough - the murder of a local historian named Winona Lightfoot. But strange clues take Samantha to the Santa Cruz Mountains, a place teeming with witches and black magic. As she works to uncover the connection between Winona and this coven, an earthquake rocks the Bay Area. That’s when Samantha has a premonition: Something is coming. Something evil. To survive - and save everyone around her - she will have to tackle her greatest fear, and hope she isn’t the next one put into a deep, dark grave....
©2013 Debbie Viguie (P)2013 Audible Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Fans of Buffy and Charmed will love it. I enjoyed it immensely." (Sunday Independent)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £14.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Philip on 28-05-13

Not a bad story, but such a bad narrator

I've got quite a library of Audible books, and during my listens I've heard a range of book quality & narration quality, and it's strange to find such a contrast in a good quality story with such a bad narrator - while she's OK at reading the descriptive parts, she has a VERY limited range of voices, including "little girl", "woman" and "man", meaning that conversations with multiple people of the same gender is INCREDIBLY hard to follow.

The characters in the book are interesting, and have raised a smile, but some of the "twists" are rather obvious, and some of the characters are a little "low on intelligence", so I think they're like that for speed of moving the story along, or to put them into a certain position in the story, but this isn't always necessary, considering how many books have more intricate stories and don't have stupid characters who should be a LOT more intelligent...

Somehow I managed to miss the first book in the series, but in all honesty you don't miss much (apart from maybe some minor character development), so coming in at this point is OK, although I wouldn't have got to this book if I had listened to the first book before this one... I certainly won't be listening to anything with this narrator again, so I'll miss the rest of the series.

Considering how many good narrators out there, how is it that ones as bad as this reader can continue to get job after job, unless the good ones are constantly busy, or too expensive for most books.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Suzanne on 08-05-13

Fantastic!

I couldn't wait to listen to this after the first novel by Debbie Viguie The 13th Sacrifice. I did expect more of the same and it didn't fail to deliver right to the VERY end!!! But I do hate it when books do a review of the first book in case you have not read it :/ read book 1!!! I now cannot wait for book 3 and I await with anticipation for Samantha's next adventure in Witchy Hell!!!

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews