Summary

Artefact is book one of The Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction - perfect for fans of The Edge of Tomorrow, Alien and James S. A. Corey's Expanse series. Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels, calls it "a gripping read that moves at warp speed".
Mankind has spread to the stars, only to become locked in warfare with an insidious alien race. All that stands against the alien menace are the soldiers of the Simulant Operation Programme, an elite military team remotely operating avatars in the most dangerous theatres of war. Captain Conrad Harris has died hundreds of times running suicide missions in simulant bodies. Known as Lazarus, he is a man addicted to death.
So when a secret research station deep in alien territory suddenly goes dark, there is no other man who could possibly lead a rescue mission.
But Harris hasn't been trained for what he's about to find. And this time he may not be coming back....
©2015 Jamie Sawyer (P)2016 Hachette Audio UK
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Artefact is an adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters. I look forward returning to the company of hardman Conrad Harris and his motley crew of simulants and soldiers time and again." (Stephen Deas, author of The Adamantine)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Martyn. R. Winters on 06-06-16

Superb military sci-fi

I bought this on a whim, looking for something different. I'm so glad I did.

Lazurus is the nickname of an Earth Allied Forces captain, commander of a simulation squad, an elite commando group, who remotely control enhanced bodies in combat against a collective alien species who are waging war against humanity. They are tasked with investigating an out of touch scientific research outpost deep inside the Maelstrom, a vast unnavigable area of space on a planet called Helios.

The writing is really good, with believable characters and good plotlines. It may be a little linear for some tastes and reminiscent of many other novels, but for all that, it's done very well.

If you like military sci-fi, you will like this and I give it 9/10.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Metalmonster on 24-04-16

Ripley should have had this team in Aliens!

What did you like most about The Lazarus War: Artefact?

Absolutely loved the squad based battles. The description of the action was top notch.
The idea of there being a squad of improved human soldiers engineered to fight the alien enemy was fresh and interesting. The overall mission running through the book was gripping. I found myself driving a longer way home so I could enjoy the story before I got home to a house of screaming children 😀

What other book might you compare The Lazarus War: Artefact to, and why?

I would describe the book as a mixture of the following films Avatar, Aliens and Edge of tomorrow. If you enjoyed any of those movies then I would highly recommend this book to you.

What three words best describe Jeff Harding’s voice?

I won't lie didn't particularly like Jeff's voice. Maybe it's because I am English 😊
However the book was so good it didn't spoil it for me.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

When man meets hostile alien life being human isn't enough to take them down.

Any additional comments?

For action hungry fans who enjoy human vs. alien stories I would highly recommend.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews