The Lies of Locke Lamora : Gentleman Bastard Sequence

  • by Scott Lynch
  • Narrated by Michael Page
  • Series: Gentleman Bastard Sequence
  • 22 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

They say that the Thorn of Camorr can beat anyone in a fight. They say he steals from the rich and gives to the poor. They say he's part man, part myth, and mostly street-corner rumor. And they are wrong on every count. Only averagely tall, slender, and god-awful with a sword, Locke Lamora is the fabled Thorn, and the greatest weapons at his disposal are his wit and cunning.
He steals from the rich - they're the only ones worth stealing from - but the poor can go steal for themselves. What Locke cons, wheedles and tricks into his possession is strictly for him and his band of fellow con-artists and thieves: the Gentleman Bastards. Together their domain is the city of Camorr. Built of Elderglass by a race no-one remembers, it's a city of shifting revels, filthy canals, baroque palaces, and crowded cemeteries. Home to Dons, merchants, soldiers, beggars, cripples, and feral children. And to Capa Barsavi, the criminal mastermind who runs the city.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fantastic modern fantasy storytelling

Lynch has written an excellent story in the spirit of Fritz Leiber, with characters that do full justice to their Grey Mouser and Fafhrd ancestry. Pastiche this is not. Witty, cunning, and occasionally swashbuckling, his characters dance through the stained glory of their fabulously imagined city and into a special place in fantasy folklore.

The audio book is beautifully read by Michael Page, and you can tell that he is relishing the plummy accents of the extended cast.

A fantastic listen. Highly recommended.
Read full review

- David

Can't Recommend This Enough

An excellent story with good well rounded characters, that moves along at a cracking pace. But what really brings it to life is the narration. You won't want to switch off.
Read full review

- Kevin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-01-2011
  • Publisher: Orion