It's 2045-2059. After the cataclysmic upheavals of Step Day and the Yellowstone eruption, humanity is spreading farther into the Long Earth, and society, on a battered Datum Earth and beyond, continues to evolve.
Now an elderly and cantankerous AI, Lobsang, lives in disguise with Agnes in an exotic, far-distant world. He’s convinced they’re leading a normal life in New Springfield - they even adopt a child - but it seems they have been guided there for a reason. As rumours of strange sightings and hauntings proliferate, it becomes clear that something is very awry with this particular world.
Millions of steps away, Joshua is on a personal journey of discovery: learning about the father he never knew and a secret family history. But then he receives a summons from New Springfield. Lobsang now understands the enormity of what’s taking place beneath the surface of his Earth - a threat to all the worlds of the Long Earth.
To counter this threat will require the combined efforts of humankind, machine and the superintelligent Next. And some must make the ultimate sacrifice....
©2015 Random House (P)2015 Random House
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £23.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £23.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 01-12-15

Great Series of four stories

Would you consider the audio edition of The Long Utopia to be better than the print version?

I am a big fan of audio book as I am dyslexic and so I find it hard to hold the story in my head in a paper book. This is a great book/series and well worth the listen.

What did you like best about this story?

I love the bazar nature of stepping and that it would offer a host of future opportunity

Which scene did you most enjoy?

All of it.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

You could listen in one sitting but it would be an all day listen.

Read more Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By S on 20-07-15

The end of something wonderful

Would you listen to The Long Utopia again? Why?

Yes - it is comletely immersive and absorbing and I will be listening to all 4 of them again and no doubt again. An original concept beautifully told.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Long Utopia?

Without giving too much away I would say the unearthing of Joshua's family history. It was a wonderfully conceived story which, if I am not mistaken, could open up a whole new storyline.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Has to be Lindsey keeping a load of bandits bottled up in an isolated shack chatting with Joshua inbetween the taking the occasional potshot. The interaction between these two is beautiful.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Both laugh and cry - and in order to avoid spoilers I am not going to say where in the book.

Any additional comments?

So long Sir Terry and thank you for the laughter and tears ... but especially the laughter. You brought alot of pleasure in mine and my families life.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews