The Medusa Chronicles

  • by Stephen Baxter, Alastair Reynolds
  • Narrated by Peter Kenny
  • 12 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Following an accident that almost cost him his life, Howard Falcon was not so much saved as he was converted, through the use of prosthetics, into something faster, stronger and smarter...but also slightly less human and more machine than he was. And with this change came an opportunity - that of piloting a mission into Jupiter's atmosphere and ultimately of making first contact with the life forms he discovers there.
Picking up the threads of humanity versus artificial intelligence and machines, and of encounters with the alien, this collaborative novel between two superb writers is a sequel to Howard Falcon's adventures.
A proper science fiction adventure, this is perfect for fans of Golden Age SF as well as the modern SF listener.
Read by Peter Kenny.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Dull and Plodding

I can't find anything good to say about this. I'm a great Reynolds fan and have read or listened to all of his other work, so I listened to this in a state of disbelief. To continue Clarke's story with a 50 year old view of what technology might be like on the future is puzzling, as it fails to take into account the technology that we take for granted now. OK, this may be an alternative reality, but it is an extraordinarily tedious one.
I know that Peter Kenny is not everyone's cup of tea, but I am quite a fan of his - normally. But on this occasion his breathless delivery is reminiscent of Nicholas Parsons much parodied introduction to Just A Minute. (Apologies to non-British readers who won't have any idea of who Nicholas Parsons is.)
I am very disappointed with this book, it fails on every level: 2 dimensional characters, sleep inducing pace, poor delivery and a tired plot development that makes it impossible to suspend disbelief.
The only reason I gave this 2 stars rather than 1 is because of my respect for Clarke, Reynolds and Kenny.
Read full review

- Andrew

Tedious, goes nowhere very slowly

Oh dear, during chaper 9 I gave up for the last time; the story didn't grip or appeal and i lost the will to keep on listening.
Read full review

- Patrick

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-05-2016
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group