The Native Star : Veneticas Americana

  • by M. K. Hobson
  • Narrated by Suehyla El-Attar
  • Series: Veneticas Americana
  • 13 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson's captivating take on the Wild, Wild West.
The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possessionand suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.
Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time - and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine - in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all - the magic of the human heart.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

hidden gem

Loved this book, if you liked the 13th child you will not put this down.
Read full review

- linda

Really good story

Well read an written. Nice story that keeps you interested to know what will happen next. Nice historical effects and good suspense. I really liked it.
Read full review

- K.Borgmann

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-08-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios