The Night Watch : Watch

  • by Sergei Lukyanenko
  • Narrated by Paul Michael
  • Series: Watch
  • 14 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Set in modern day Moscow, Night Watch is a world as elaborate and imaginative as Tolkien or the best Asimov. Living among us are the "Others," an ancient race of humans with supernatural powers who swear allegiance to either the Dark or the Light. A thousand-year treaty has maintained the balance of power, and the two sides coexist in an uneasy truce. But an ancient prophecy decrees that one supreme "Other" will rise up and tip the balance, plunging the world into a catastrophic war between the Dark and the Light.
When a young boy with extraordinary powers emerges, fulfilling the first half of the prophecy, will the forces of the Light be able to keep the Dark from corrupting the boy and destroying the world?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Very Good Listen

Should you be a ‘Marla Mason’ fan you are sure to like this book, but instead of the backdrop being America it is Moscow.
I have never visited Russia so the small amount of ‘place’ that is used meant nothing to me, but 'The Otherers' – witches, wizards, vampires, to name but a few – are placeless, they need no real scenery. Magic & sorcery abound as the night watches the day and vice versa, and the ordinary people are virtually unaware of the other city in their midst.
I'm moving right on to the next book in this series.
Read full review

- Pauline

The Night Watch: Watch, Book 1

Although I loved the films and would recommend them to any syfy movie lovers, yet again it is a case of the book being so much better than the films. For a start this book is split into three separate stories, two of which are barley referenced in the film and to do them justice each would need a film of its own. The character progression that you get throughout the books of both the dark and light characters, as they learn, grow and develop their beliefs really sets the stories apart. The series is written beautifully with wonderful imagery, imagination and plot. The machinations of both the dark and light others has every bit the excitement of John le Carré plots and the universe is just as realized despite the vampires, magicians and sorceresses that it is populated with. The narrator is, in my opinion, one of the best I have heard doing both male and female voices and varying accents equally well so that it is like listening to a play with a full cast. There is nothing that I would criticize.

Read full review

- nicole

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-01-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios