The Providence of Fire : Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne

  • by Brian Staveley
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne
  • 24 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Brian Staveley's The Providence of Fire, the second novel in the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, a gripping new epic fantasy series in the tradition of Brandon Sanderson and George R. R. Martin.
The conspiracy to destroy the ruling family of the Annurian Empire is far from over.
Having learned the identity of her father's assassin, Adare flees the Dawn Palace in search of allies to challenge the coup against her family. Few trust her, but when she is believed to be touched by Intarra, patron goddess of the empire, the people rally to help her retake the capital city. As armies prepare to clash, the threat of invasion from barbarian hordes compels the rival forces to unite against their common enemy.
Unknown to Adare, her brother Valyn, renegade member of the empire's most elite fighting force, has allied with the invading nomads. The terrible choices each of them has made may make war between them inevitable.
Between Valyn and Adare is their brother Kaden, rightful heir to the Unhewn Throne, who has infiltrated the Annurian capital with the help of two strange companions. The knowledge they possess of the secret history that shapes these events could save Annur or destroy it.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The first book had some promise...

Would you try another book written by Brian Staveley or narrated by Simon Vance?

I did and wasn't satisfied, so returned it. I think we live in an age where it is fashionable to make conflicted heroes/heroines/villains... Unfortunately most authors mistake conflicted, for contradictory or contrary. You end up with a selection of character paths that make no sense. Brian Staveley produces teen fantasy fiction, he's not George Orwell.


What was most disappointing about Brian Staveley’s story?

George Martin, Anthony Ryan, Patrick Rothfuss and Joe Abercrombie (Barring his Shattered Sea trilogy dross) handle conflicted and complex character building within well structured plots. Staveley is simply not as good as these guys and his plot direction seems to be built on a scene by scene foundation rather than an overarching tale, that is logically fitted together.


What does Simon Vance bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Simon Vance is the only constantly good thing in these books. Great narrator.


Was The Providence of Fire worth the listening time?

No. It repeatedly helped me fall asleep at night time, on the train... Anywhere I decided to stick it on really.


Any additional comments?

Some teens might enjoy this tale, but this really is just another example of poor plotting and character creation. Style over substance stuff really. At the end of day, i wish i could say that there was even a message in this slick slop, but there isn't...

Read full review

- Ross

Good story but....

The beginning and the end were good but the endless battle in between just went on and on and on, becoming so confusing I didn't know who was fighting who. You get the idea. But, having said that it still held my interest enough to want to know what happens in the third book. Brilliant narrator though. I would definitely look for more audio books read by him.
Read full review

- P. Harvey-Field

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-01-2015
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio