The Rage : The Year of Rogue Dragons

  • by Richard Lee Byers
  • Narrated by Melissa Reizian Frank
  • Series: The Year of Rogue Dragons
  • 11 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Renegade dragon hunter Dorn hates dragons with a passion few can believe, let alone match. He has devoted his entire life - a life spent in the twisted body of a half-golem - to killing every dragon he can find.
You might feel the same way if one of them had killed your entire family in front of your eyes, bitten you in half, and left you for dead.
Killing one dragon at a time is hard enough, but when the irresistible impluse to slip into feral madness begins to overcome not one but every dragon all across Faern, civilization's only hope may lie in the last alliance Dorn and his fellow dragon hunters would ever accept.
No matter what happens, the next year is going to be a difficult one for Dorn, and for Faern itself. The Year of Rogue Dragons has come....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Could have been much better

Any additional comments?

It's certainly a listenable series but I feel it was a missed opportunity, I can think of other FR authors that could have done far more with this. I found it improves in the second and more so in the third book.

The narrator is by no means poor, but some of the voices she uses, or rather her emphasis of tone to depict emotion sometimes goes a little too far. It's fair to say stories in any overarching fantasy universes can, in reality, be a bit silly at times but that's often no detriment to what are good stories overall; her use of emotional tone 'cheapened' it a little at times if that makes sense? Particularly Dorn and Kara. The only thing I found out of place were the couple of Dwarf voices.

I've only listened to/read Lee Byer's book in the War of the Spider Queen, which was very wordy but truly excellent. I've not got to his other books yet, but I'd safely say this is the weakest, it wouldn't be fair to avoid him over this.

Read full review

- Jonathan Brown

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios